Applesauce Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I made several modifications and received excellent complements: Added 1 tsp vanilla; used cinnamon flavored applesauce; decreased ground cinnamon to 1/2 tsp; added 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg &1/4 tsp ground cloves; used Craisins instead of raisins and toasted the walnuts. These cookies do not spread. The first batch at teaspoon size seemed alittle too small. After that I used a scoop that's a tad over a tablespoon. Baking time 10-11 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
First, I found greasing the sheets to be a mistake. It's not necessary and results in an almost black cookie bottom. If you leave the sheets UNGREASED, they will turn a nice medium brown on the bottom instead. Next, I added a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla for a little more flavor. Finally, I made a second batch, leaving out the raisins and nuts, which we liked even better, and made them more toddler friendly. Over all, a good, soft, not too sweet cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I just baked these cookies and they are really good. I read some other reviews and altered the recipe a bit. Replaced shortening with 2 sticks of butter, melted. Added more cinnamon, 1/4 tsp grnd Nutmeg and Cloves, 1 tsp vanilla, and used slivered almonds instead of walnuts (I was out). I also sprinkled some powdered sugar on top. Yummy! Next time I will make some butter frosting for these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This is the best applesauce cookie. I made this recipe and entered it into my county fair (one of the largest agriculture fairs in PA) and won first placein the fruit cookie division. Thank you Julian for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
These cookies were like cake cookies to me. I didnt add any nutmeg, and added one teaspoon of vanilla. These cookies were even better without the nuts and raisins in my opinion. I will make these again, they are super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2000
Nice light cookie, excellent when warm, and with a tall glass of cold milk.I added alittle apple pie spice(approx 1/8 tsp) for alittle spicer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
They were so very easy, and they hit the spot. I added a teaspoon of vanilla and it add just a little more flavor. It is one I will use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
Very good! Moist and chewy! I added a little more cinnamon and also some nutmeg. These were quick to make but they don't last long - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I enjoyed making this easy recipe. I added some modifications as mentioned in earlier reviews...I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, a pinch of nutmeg and allspice, and most importantly, drizzled a confectioner's sugar icing on top of the cookies...they were just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Love 'em... added vanilla extract and freshly grated nutmeg... put raisins in one batch, left the other batch "naked" for my raisin-haters. I only baked them for ten minutes so they wouldn't be hard, and they turned out just right. I also made them a little bit bigger than one teaspoon, something like a big tablespoon. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States