Applesauce Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Love 'em... added vanilla extract and freshly grated nutmeg... put raisins in one batch, left the other batch "naked" for my raisin-haters. I only baked them for ten minutes so they wouldn't be hard, and they turned out just right. I also made them a little bit bigger than one teaspoon, something like a big tablespoon. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is my first time making applesauce cookies and WOW!! They came out perfect. I followed the recipe almost exact. I used cinnamon applesauce. I didn't grease the cookie sheet and they didn't stick, browned perfectly. I did add some nutmeg. I baked for exactly 10 minutes each time and they were done. Very fluffy. LOVE 'EM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
You can make a delicious chocolate chip version of this recipe. I love the texture of this cookie, and it's not greasy at all. I deleted the spices and raisins. Instead, add 1 tbsp. vanilla, a little salt and 3/4 cup chocolate chips. I made a couple of "test" cookies with this new batter and decided it needed a little more vanilla and chips, so you might want to experiment before you make the entire batch. You can make bigger cookies because these cookies don't fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
My hubby really enjoyed these cookies. They were pretty simple to make also! I never made cookies before and they turned out great! Like the others, I added the 1 tsp of vanilla. Also added in a little extra flour. Used 2 sticks of butter rather than shortening like mentioned in one review. THANKS SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deleteme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I give these cookies 5 stars because they are great for a snack, with coffee, and are not too sweet! I added only a tsp. of vanilla as suggested in some reviews. Did omit raisins as we did not have any. They are good, just with the walnuts! May try next time with either raisins or dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This is the best applesauce cookie. I made this recipe and entered it into my county fair (one of the largest agriculture fairs in PA) and won first placein the fruit cookie division. Thank you Julian for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
My kids love these cookies. Their not even crazy about raisins. Plus to save money I don't put in the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This recipe made great cookies! I loved them! In addition to the cinnamon I added 1/4 tsp of cloves, nutmeg and allspice and 1 tsp. of vanilla for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made a few changes to make it lower in fat and sugar, turned out great a real cakelike cookie. I used 1/4 cup veg oil and 1 cup applesauce, 1/2 c brown sugar, added 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is the recipe my mother used. I find they're much tastier if one adds nutmeg, more cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States