Applesauce Cinnamon Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I have to say, this was an interesting recipe. I have never had anything like it and can't say, that I will again. No offense. I love red hot candies, Jell-O and applesauce but everyone that tried it in my house was perplexed on what to make of it. For one, it was extremely cinnamon-y sweet, it sat in the fridge for over 4 hours and held a shape for like 5 minutes and started turning into gelatin-y sauce. Was not impressed about it flattening while trying to take photos of it and I went so far as to put it in pretty mini molds for it's appearance but by the time I walked with it out of my kitchen and into my office where I have my photo box, it was almost pouring off the plate. Then just turned right around, went back to the kitchen put it in a bowl and called it done. Then emptied all the other mold together into a bigger bowl and back into the fridge. If it wasn't so overwhelmingly sweet and held it's shape, I might enjoy it better. Sorry my apologies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is a family favorite with the family. One thing that is necessary is to add a packet of unflavored gelatin (sprinkle over cold water first) - just don't boil all of the water. Also, can't imagine this with lemon jello, we use cherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Try putting this recipe in pineapple chunks, then add a cream cheese with some mayo topping with chopped up celery in it, Its very tasty, I have tryed it without the pinnapple and its a good salad, but something about the pineapple really makes this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I love this gelatin salad. Had looked for the recipe for a long time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I've been making this for years, except I use 2 pkg. raspberry Jello, a quart of applesauce, and a package of cinnamon red hot candies dissolved in the water. I also add an envelope of Knox gelatin to help in the firming process, and it fits perfectly into a green Tupperware jello mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariAnnaW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I was so tickled to find this recipe! I remember that applesauce jello used to be a real fad in the 70's. After reviewing the reviews, I made a few alterations. I used only 1 oz. of candies and only 1/2 c. of unsweetened applesauce to cut down on the sweetness. I also didn't have any lemon so I substituted peach. It was so good that my kids fought over it! The next day I tried it with the lemon and it wasn't too good. In fact, it was a weird combination so stick with the peach flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I made this for a baby shower. I used cherry gelatin rather than lemon. Be ready...It's VERY sweet! Also, if you are looking for something with the gelatin consistancy, this is not the recipe. I topped it with whipped cream. I received differing opinions ranging from, "This is really good" to "What the heck did I just put in my mouth!" LOL. I think it would be good for Summer cook outs though because it is refreshing. I'll make it again, mostly because I enjoyed watching people's reactions to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I have added this to the menu for Christmas dinner the past two years and my family absolutely loves it. I think the lemon works wonderfully. Although, I am thinking about experimenting with other jell-o flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Reading, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
One of my family favorites from childhood. The texture from the applesauce makes it something different. I think I used about 1 1/4 cup water and it turned out fine. I have done it with cherry jello, but the lemon jello is used to give it a bit of punch to cover the sweetness of the candies. Not for everyone, but a nice change of pace for those who want something different for their next gathering. Serve with casseroles that have cream sauces or with ham dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This recipe was not a good favor with the lemon jello, but it is excellent with Cherry jello instead. If it wasn't for the lemon jello in this recipe, I would rate it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States