Applesauce Cinnamon Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
Easy and good. Very strong taste and sugary. I served with very flavorful foods and this was a nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Mine did not harden, and I didn't like the flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This recipe was not a good favor with the lemon jello, but it is excellent with Cherry jello instead. If it wasn't for the lemon jello in this recipe, I would rate it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
One of my family favorites from childhood. The texture from the applesauce makes it something different. I think I used about 1 1/4 cup water and it turned out fine. I have done it with cherry jello, but the lemon jello is used to give it a bit of punch to cover the sweetness of the candies. Not for everyone, but a nice change of pace for those who want something different for their next gathering. Serve with casseroles that have cream sauces or with ham dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I have added this to the menu for Christmas dinner the past two years and my family absolutely loves it. I think the lemon works wonderfully. Although, I am thinking about experimenting with other jell-o flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Reading, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I made this for a baby shower. I used cherry gelatin rather than lemon. Be ready...It's VERY sweet! Also, if you are looking for something with the gelatin consistancy, this is not the recipe. I topped it with whipped cream. I received differing opinions ranging from, "This is really good" to "What the heck did I just put in my mouth!" LOL. I think it would be good for Summer cook outs though because it is refreshing. I'll make it again, mostly because I enjoyed watching people's reactions to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I was so tickled to find this recipe! I remember that applesauce jello used to be a real fad in the 70's. After reviewing the reviews, I made a few alterations. I used only 1 oz. of candies and only 1/2 c. of unsweetened applesauce to cut down on the sweetness. I also didn't have any lemon so I substituted peach. It was so good that my kids fought over it! The next day I tried it with the lemon and it wasn't too good. In fact, it was a weird combination so stick with the peach flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I've been making this for years, except I use 2 pkg. raspberry Jello, a quart of applesauce, and a package of cinnamon red hot candies dissolved in the water. I also add an envelope of Knox gelatin to help in the firming process, and it fits perfectly into a green Tupperware jello mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariAnnaW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I love this gelatin salad. Had looked for the recipe for a long time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Try putting this recipe in pineapple chunks, then add a cream cheese with some mayo topping with chopped up celery in it, Its very tasty, I have tryed it without the pinnapple and its a good salad, but something about the pineapple really makes this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States