Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This cake was delicious, moist and very easy, I've made it twice and everyone has loved it. I made this cake in a bundt pan. I did make a couple of substitutions... I replaced 1/2 cup of oil with an additional 1/2 cup of applesauce (I always do that to reduce fat), I also added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves for extra spice. I only needed to cook it for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This is a wonderful cake! I followed the suggestions made by another reviewer. I substituted an extra 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup oil. I also used a bundt pan. I had to cook for 50 minutes, and it probably could have baked a little longer, but it was fine. It didn't come out of the pan clean, that is my only complaint, otherwise it was DELICIOUS! I didn't use anything to top it, but it would be great with a cream cheese frosting. I will do that next time. My husband took some back to work with him to share with his work buddies. He absolutely raved about it! It was so easy, I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Delicious, moist, sweet and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I added 1/2 tsp of cloves and added chopped pecans for texture. Turned out fine, the only thing i noticed was, you can taste the baking soda. It's moist and fluffy, I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
The cake was too bland. The recipe called for 2 1/2 cups of oil which is way too much oil. I had to only put maybe 1 cup oil. A substitution of 1 cup butter or margarine might of suited better. There was not enough spice in the recipe. Where is the applesauce? You can't even taste it. Instead of powdered sugar, I think frosting will suit it much better and maybe add some sugar taste to it since you can't taste it in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This receipe was absolutely GREAT!! My family loved it and I have noted options that can be added for special occassions or differenttastes. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT! Also, VERY easy to make, this is a plus in a busy family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This is a fast & easy recipe that tastes wonderful. I would like to mention that it does not call for 2 1/2 cups of oil, as someone stated earlier...but 1 1/2 cups of oil. I baked mine in a bundt pan and it was marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
EXCELLENT! Moist, delicious and quick to make! I baked my cake in a 9 x 13 pan and it turned out beautifully. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Fabulous!!! Thanks for the suggestions of substituting 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 oil. I ran out of plain applesauce and used apple/strawberry sauce instead; added just a bit of nutmeg - my boys (19 & 13) absolutely love it. Can't keep them away from it!!! (lol) Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Priya
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Great recipe! I substituted 1/2 cup oil for 1/2 cup applesauce and used self raising flour. The cake turned out perfect except for being a little more moist than I would've liked. So, for the next time, I would omit the extra applesauce and cook it for a little bit longer. The cake has a muffin sort of texture and would even be great baked as individual muffins. I highly recommend this recipe to those who love the apple/cinnamon flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States