Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
EXCEPTIONAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaNa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Worked great as recommended...decrease vegetable oil to 3/4 cups and increase applesauce to 2+1/2 cups. I used it for my daughter's first birthday cake - with cream cheese frosting II and marshmallow fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Exactly the recipe I was hoping for. Didn't want raisins or nuts (picky eaters in the house). Halfway into mixing I discovered my applesauce jar only had 1 cup in it. Fortunately, I had apples on hand and shredded a few up. Still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil Penny
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
made this for my husbands friends at work and it didnt make it til lunch time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
4.5 stars! Easy to make, especially considering the simple ingredients (which I had on hand). Tasted great in muffin/cupcake form - very fluffy and light and yummy - and my boyfriend decided to throw the batter into the waffle maker to see what happened. The results were great! Same light sweetness but with a slightly more crisp outside (definitely not crunchy, just a bit firmer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Have made this recipe 3 times in the last few days---great recipe!!! Followed the advice of others and substituted 1/2 cup of oil with 1/2 cup of applesauce. Th cake is wonderful---everyone liked it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made this recipe and used a cream-cheese frosting with a touch of lemon juice in it, and it was a big hit! I made it for 10 ladies at a nursing home and they are quick to say they don't like something, but they actually enjoyed this alot. I even caught a worker licking the pan for the cream cheese frosting---the frosting made it so much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I made this exactly to the instructions, used a bundt pan, baked for 50 minutes, and it turned out great. I like that it is not overly sweet. I eat too many sweets as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
i wasted alot of ingredients on this cake very dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
The cake came out very moist and light, with great aroma. Absolutely delicious with coffee or alone as a snack. The cake is not very sweet (I used unsweetened applesauce), maybe next time I will add a bit more sugar and/or try sweetened applesauce. I subsituted 1/2 oil for applesauce, like the other reviewers. The batter was enough for a bundt cake mold and a small bread loaf mold. Baked both together for 50 minutes and came out just right. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States