Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
4.5 stars! Easy to make, especially considering the simple ingredients (which I had on hand). Tasted great in muffin/cupcake form - very fluffy and light and yummy - and my boyfriend decided to throw the batter into the waffle maker to see what happened. The results were great! Same light sweetness but with a slightly more crisp outside (definitely not crunchy, just a bit firmer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Have made this recipe 3 times in the last few days---great recipe!!! Followed the advice of others and substituted 1/2 cup of oil with 1/2 cup of applesauce. Th cake is wonderful---everyone liked it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made this recipe and used a cream-cheese frosting with a touch of lemon juice in it, and it was a big hit! I made it for 10 ladies at a nursing home and they are quick to say they don't like something, but they actually enjoyed this alot. I even caught a worker licking the pan for the cream cheese frosting---the frosting made it so much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I made this exactly to the instructions, used a bundt pan, baked for 50 minutes, and it turned out great. I like that it is not overly sweet. I eat too many sweets as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
i wasted alot of ingredients on this cake very dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
The cake came out very moist and light, with great aroma. Absolutely delicious with coffee or alone as a snack. The cake is not very sweet (I used unsweetened applesauce), maybe next time I will add a bit more sugar and/or try sweetened applesauce. I subsituted 1/2 oil for applesauce, like the other reviewers. The batter was enough for a bundt cake mold and a small bread loaf mold. Baked both together for 50 minutes and came out just right. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I just got done making this and took the others advice by adding the extra applesauce and cloves. Yummy! I will make this again=) I ended up having to bake it for 55 min. You might have to adjust that time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANNSU
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Moist and wonderful. I also substituted the oil. And I halved the recipe for a smaller cake. It works! Such an easy recipe to do!! And not as sweet as some other cakes. I added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Cake for BREAKFAST! My 4 year old LOVES THAT! (Me too!) I added the extra 1/2 cup applesauce and only used 3/4 cup oil-I found it too moist using 1 cup. I also added 1/4 t. each ground nutmeg and ginger. I have also used 3 t. Chinese 5-spice (w/OUT pepper! read the labels) and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I adapted this recipe for 9 servings and baked in an oblong pan. It was fantastic; very moist and very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGGYI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States