Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I do not always have applesauce on hand, in fact I had canned pears last fall and I threw them in the food processor to make sauce. Same effect. It is all in the spices. I like spicey cake so I had ginger and cloves along with the cinnamon. If you have a can of peaches you could probably do the same thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very good cake. I did do the substitution like others did of putting in more applesauce. As is, it did seem like a lot of oil. This cake is also a great way to get rid of applesauce. For moistness it gets a perfect score. It's probably one of the moistest cakes I've ever made. I love the cinnamon in there too but good as it is, I think it needs a little something extra. More apple flavor maybe, a crumb topping or frosting of some sort. It's not super sweet so it can handle it. Last thing, my oven is older and it is scorching hot, so the cake was done in only 30 minutes. Keep an eye on it just in case ;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great cake. Made it as a Bundt cake. Cooked for 50-55 min. I used homemade chunky applesauce. I replaced applesauce for 1/2 c of the oil. I only used 3/4 c of oil. The bottom of the bundt had a crunchy/chewy crust because I overcooked it a few minutes but it tasted really good. I put Cream Cheese frosting on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great recipe! I made it in 2 loaf pans, used unsweetened applesauce and added 4 T brown sugar and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Also followed others and substituted 1/2 c oil with 1/2 c applesauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Delicious cake, not too moist and not too dry. Good texture and pleasant taste that is not overpowered by a lot of spices. I made it in a 12 cup bundt pan that worked out perfectly. Hubs informed me that the recipe was a keeper. Thanks for sharing Coral.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this cake today with the left over homemade applesauce I had in the fridg. I only had 1 1/2 C's so I did not decrease the oil. I made 12 cup cakes and one 9 inch round cake for the freezer. The cakes came out perfectly lite in texture but tasted more like a spice cake. You wouldn't know there was applesauce in it. I do plan to frost them with butter cream frosting when they are cooled. I did taste a nibble from the corner of one of the cup cakes and it does taste good. I will try these again sometime with more applesauce as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is wonderful! I had a jar of applesauce that needed used up, so I thought I would try out this recipe. I took other users' suggestions and substituted 1/2 cup of the vegetable oil for an extra 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also added 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves to jazz it up a bit. Next time I'm going to try it out with dried cranberries! To top off this wonderful cake, I whipped up a batch of the Caramel Frosting IV (found here) and my hubby and I thought we were tasting a bit of Heaven. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori Flores

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I'm a novice cook at best, but trying to reach deep within to find some of that domesticity that I know must be in there somewhere. [I should disclose that my adult-living teacher in high school offered me an A, if I didn't come back to class. That's how bad it was. lol] I appreciate simple, easy-to-follow recipes, that turn out really well and scores me some accolades! This was one of those recipes. I made it for my Sunday School class to go with our morning coffee & everyone really raved about it! Gives me hope to keep working at it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda-Marie Purkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Too bland. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States