Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great recipe! I made it in 2 loaf pans, used unsweetened applesauce and added 4 T brown sugar and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Also followed others and substituted 1/2 c oil with 1/2 c applesauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
great easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Delicious cake, not too moist and not too dry. Good texture and pleasant taste that is not overpowered by a lot of spices. I made it in a 12 cup bundt pan that worked out perfectly. Hubs informed me that the recipe was a keeper. Thanks for sharing Coral.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this cake today with the left over homemade applesauce I had in the fridg. I only had 1 1/2 C's so I did not decrease the oil. I made 12 cup cakes and one 9 inch round cake for the freezer. The cakes came out perfectly lite in texture but tasted more like a spice cake. You wouldn't know there was applesauce in it. I do plan to frost them with butter cream frosting when they are cooled. I did taste a nibble from the corner of one of the cup cakes and it does taste good. I will try these again sometime with more applesauce as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is wonderful! I had a jar of applesauce that needed used up, so I thought I would try out this recipe. I took other users' suggestions and substituted 1/2 cup of the vegetable oil for an extra 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also added 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves to jazz it up a bit. Next time I'm going to try it out with dried cranberries! To top off this wonderful cake, I whipped up a batch of the Caramel Frosting IV (found here) and my hubby and I thought we were tasting a bit of Heaven. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I'm a novice cook at best, but trying to reach deep within to find some of that domesticity that I know must be in there somewhere. [I should disclose that my adult-living teacher in high school offered me an A, if I didn't come back to class. That's how bad it was. lol] I appreciate simple, easy-to-follow recipes, that turn out really well and scores me some accolades! This was one of those recipes. I made it for my Sunday School class to go with our morning coffee & everyone really raved about it! Gives me hope to keep working at it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmarie47

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Too bland. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
EXCEPTIONAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaNa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Worked great as recommended...decrease vegetable oil to 3/4 cups and increase applesauce to 2+1/2 cups. I used it for my daughter's first birthday cake - with cream cheese frosting II and marshmallow fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Exactly the recipe I was hoping for. Didn't want raisins or nuts (picky eaters in the house). Halfway into mixing I discovered my applesauce jar only had 1 cup in it. Fortunately, I had apples on hand and shredded a few up. Still turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil Penny
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States