Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I had a jar of sweetened apple sauce that I wanted to use up, and decided to try this recipe. I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup and substituted 1/2 cup of oil with 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I also added 1/2 cup of raisins. It looks very nice, but it took 90 minutes to bake! After 60 minutes it was all raw batter inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
All I had were 2 cans of unsweetened applesauce, so I combined some of the other hints. Ended up with a spice cake with a taste of apples.Ended up needing 3 loaf pans (froze 2). 2 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce, 1 c oil, 4 T brown sugar, 3 t cinnamon, 2 t nutmeg,1 1/2 t cloves were my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This cake is amazing! So moist and yunmy. Everyone loved it! The only thing I did differently was to add a couple of peeled and diced apples. Mmmm... This one is a keeper and I'll be making it again. Maybe next time I'll add some raisins...or coconut...or... lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made this cake twice! I followed the recipe exactly the first time and it turned out delicious. The second time I added some pears that I had put in my ninja instead of applesauce. I also added some cloves. Best cake recipe ever..it never makes it to the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is the first cake that ever disappoints me in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I came looking for this recipe today as I had 2 cups of homemade Gravenstein applesauce in my fridge that I wanted to do something with. We had our first slices while the cake was still a bit warm. We found it very flavorful, moist, and delicious. I will definitely make this recipe again and again. The thick, homemade applesauce probably added something extra for the flavor. I used 1 teaspoon salt, used 2 teaspoons baking powder and 1 teaspoon baking soda. I used only 1 cup oil instead of 1 1/2 cups but did not increase the applesauce. I used the cinnamon as called for and liked the balance with the apple flavor. Thank you so much for a luscious and really easy cake recipe. I used a bundt pan and baked it for 55 minutes. A glaze would have been lovely but we enjoyed it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is delicious-definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Very moist and good!! My husband loved it,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I used whole wheat flour and I cup of oil with an extra 1/2 cup of applesauce. I think I could reduce the oil by another 1/2 cup and increase the applesauce. Made them into muffins, cooked about 25 minutes and it was a bit too long. Made lots (three muffin tins, don't remember how many in each tin...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
excellent cake I used my home made apple sauce in it. It was moist and yummy. Very easy to make. osen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States