Applesauce Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I Couldn't find my tube pan (which I never use anyway), so I used a 9X13 Glass pan for this recipe. I decreased the Oil (used 1 cup) and Increased applesauce (used 1 and 1/2 cups) unsweetened, but followed the other ingredients, time cooked exaclty. This turned out perfectly. One thing I want to add though, to my surprise, and is a positive thing, is this cake is not like light and fluffy cake. It is a heavy, wonderful, dense muffin-like dessert that comes out perfect from the pan, no sticking, slices without sticking to the knife and is just one of the best recipes I have ever come across. I added some drizzles of simple vanilla glaze on the top to satistfy my youngest because of previous reviews said it wasn't that sweet, but I really don't think it was necessary. This would have been excellent without the extra sweetness. It is just sweet enough to satisfy, but hte extra glaze adds a little more for the ones who need to satisfy the sweet craving. Had this as a dessert for my chili dinner tonite and my kids want this again for breakfast tomorrow! My youngest is a picky eater. You could even make these as muffins, and they would be the best heaviest muffins EVER! I will be making this over and over again. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very easy and yummy! I cut the recipe in half and used a bread loaf pan. And I cut back on the oil (1/2 cup instead of 1 cup) and sugar (1/2 cup instead of 1 cup) and increased the proportion of applesauce (1 1/2 cups instead of 1 cup). And it was done in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Great cake and one of the easiest to make! Everyone loved it. I followed someone's suggestion to reduce the oil by half a cup and increase the applesauce by halfa cup. Makes a very moist, fluffy and light cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
very good and moist-can add more applesauce if want and cut the sugar 8/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This cake recipe was AMAZING, even with the significant changes I made: BLENDED (fresh) STRAWBERRIES in place of applesauce, mixture of melted BUTTER & COCONUT OIL instead of vegetable oil, and I nixed the cinnamon. I had lots of strawberries on hand, and couldn't find a good strawberry cake recipe (most called for strawberry flavoured jello and not real strawberries!), so I had a feeling a recipe that a cake recipe that used applesauce would work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Good! Made it in a 13 by 9 pan with less oil and more applesauce as well as less sugar. Sprinkled icing sugar sparingly on the top. Oh and about 1/4 tsp of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Perfect cake for the Fall. I followed the advice of other reviewers and I decreased the amount of oil to 1 cup and increased the amount of applesauce to 2 1/2 cups. I also added crushed walnuts to the mixture. Even thought this cake has 2 cups of sugar, I didn't find it overly sweet which I'm ok with. It was a hit and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is an easy recipe and it absolutely delicious. The cake is light and moist, I made into loaf tins. I'm going to make a toffee sauce or frosting to cover the others. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Loved it. Very moist. I did decrease the sugar by half. I also added 1/2 c applesauce and decreased oil by 1/2 c as suggested by other reviewers. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Family ate it up in a 24 hour period! I traded a cup of oil for a cup of applesauce. Oh, and tonight we added three bakers chocolate cubes! Super chocolaty and Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States