Applesauce Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
We have made this recipe 4 times now. It is moist and fairly easy to make.Last time we made it we let allrecipes increase th amounts to make(3) 8-inch round cakes (18 servings) and also made it extra healthy by substituting 1/3 the flour with lighter flours from the health food store. (We used unmeasured amounts of whole wheat pastry flour, brown rice flour and oat flour to make 1 cup (1/3 of the 18-serving recipe). We also ran out of applesauce, so we drained one can of 'lite' fruit cocktail and put it the food processor, which luckily turned into 1 cup of pureed fruit that had the same consistency of applesauce! It worked great! One time we removed 2 Tablespoons of the sugar and replaced it with 2 Tablespoons of molasses. This recipe is quite adaptable.....thanks Britney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
really good cake easy to make and smells terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
texture and taste excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nesconset, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Nice moist cake, used a 9 X 13 pan and frosted it with cream cheese icing. Very easy and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Very simple and easy cake to make and tasted great too. I added the ginger to give it a little kick. Family loved it. Will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Woolsey Haggerton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Misawa, Aomori, Japan
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made this for my Mom's birthday and everyone loved it. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe. I made it into 2 round pans and made a layer cake and they only needed about 23-25 minutes at the most to bake. Will make again for a delicious easy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Shirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Our family loved this easy recipe.The cake vanished in notime. Iadded ginger cloves, and used cannola oil instead of butter.Iused 1/2 cup wholewheat flour and glazed the cake using powdered sugar vanilla ,and a little water for a lactose free desert.thanks Britney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Very moist cake. I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup and it was sweet enough. I added some chopped apples and left out the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Great applesauce cake! This doesn't take long to bake - it's done in 35 minutes for a 9x13 pan. For those who found it dry, maybe they overcooked it. I almost did! I upped the applesause by 1/2 cup and used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown (decreasing the sugar by 1/2 cup). I also added 1 chopped apple and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. It smelled great coming out of the oven. For the icing I used Pumpkin Bar Icing from this site. It's a cream cheese icing that tastes great and is very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow! Made this for a birthday party and followed this recipe exactly. It was so easy to make. I topped it with cream cheese frosting and sprinkled chopped walnuts on the top. It went quickly at the party, everyone loved it, even a friend of mine who isn't a sweet lover had two slices! I will make this again soon. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States