Applesauce Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Nice moist cake, used a 9 X 13 pan and frosted it with cream cheese icing. Very easy and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
texture and taste excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nesconset, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Very simple and easy cake to make and tasted great too. I added the ginger to give it a little kick. Family loved it. Will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Misawa, Aomori, Japan
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
We have made this recipe 4 times now. It is moist and fairly easy to make.Last time we made it we let allrecipes increase th amounts to make(3) 8-inch round cakes (18 servings) and also made it extra healthy by substituting 1/3 the flour with lighter flours from the health food store. (We used unmeasured amounts of whole wheat pastry flour, brown rice flour and oat flour to make 1 cup (1/3 of the 18-serving recipe). We also ran out of applesauce, so we drained one can of 'lite' fruit cocktail and put it the food processor, which luckily turned into 1 cup of pureed fruit that had the same consistency of applesauce! It worked great! One time we removed 2 Tablespoons of the sugar and replaced it with 2 Tablespoons of molasses. This recipe is quite adaptable.....thanks Britney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow! Made this for a birthday party and followed this recipe exactly. It was so easy to make. I topped it with cream cheese frosting and sprinkled chopped walnuts on the top. It went quickly at the party, everyone loved it, even a friend of mine who isn't a sweet lover had two slices! I will make this again soon. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
really good cake easy to make and smells terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Our family loved this easy recipe.The cake vanished in notime. Iadded ginger cloves, and used cannola oil instead of butter.Iused 1/2 cup wholewheat flour and glazed the cake using powdered sugar vanilla ,and a little water for a lactose free desert.thanks Britney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Very moist cake. I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup and it was sweet enough. I added some chopped apples and left out the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made this for my Mom's birthday and everyone loved it. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe. I made it into 2 round pans and made a layer cake and they only needed about 23-25 minutes at the most to bake. Will make again for a delicious easy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Great applesauce cake! This doesn't take long to bake - it's done in 35 minutes for a 9x13 pan. For those who found it dry, maybe they overcooked it. I almost did! I upped the applesause by 1/2 cup and used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown (decreasing the sugar by 1/2 cup). I also added 1 chopped apple and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. It smelled great coming out of the oven. For the icing I used Pumpkin Bar Icing from this site. It's a cream cheese icing that tastes great and is very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States