Applesauce Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was moist and wonderful and had nice flavor. I will make again. I have to say to some ofthe posters, if you change to muffins or cupcakes and do not change baking time, or your oven is shot, don't blame the recipe because your cake is dry. I'm not trying to be snarky, just letting you know that the recipe is just fine AS DIRECTED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I was making these for my kids, so I made this into cupcakes and didn't add in the raisins and walnuts; although, I think I would have liked them more had I included these ingredients. But, my kids liked them just as I made them, and they didn't last long in the house. I topped the cupcakes with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this with homemade applesauce - it was a HUGE hit! Everyone loved it and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Terrific recipe- this is a keeper. I found the cake to be easy to make, very moist and delicious. In the future I wouldn’t bother making a frosting for this as it stands well on its own. I made half the recipe resulting in 12 cupcakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made cupcakes with this recipe, with Caramel frosting VI and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I wish they were more moist but they tasted great with a carmel buttercram frosting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
insane awesome! i left out the raisons and nuts and added a banana and 1/2 cup semi sweet chips. frosted with cream cheese frosting. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow! Made this for a birthday party and followed this recipe exactly. It was so easy to make. I topped it with cream cheese frosting and sprinkled chopped walnuts on the top. It went quickly at the party, everyone loved it, even a friend of mine who isn't a sweet lover had two slices! I will make this again soon. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Great applesauce cake! This doesn't take long to bake - it's done in 35 minutes for a 9x13 pan. For those who found it dry, maybe they overcooked it. I almost did! I upped the applesause by 1/2 cup and used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown (decreasing the sugar by 1/2 cup). I also added 1 chopped apple and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. It smelled great coming out of the oven. For the icing I used Pumpkin Bar Icing from this site. It's a cream cheese icing that tastes great and is very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Very moist cake. I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup and it was sweet enough. I added some chopped apples and left out the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States