Applesauce Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Nice moist cake, used a 9 X 13 pan and frosted it with cream cheese icing. Very easy and everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Very simple and easy cake to make and tasted great too. I added the ginger to give it a little kick. Family loved it. Will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Woolsey Haggerton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Misawa, Aomori, Japan
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This cake was good, tastey, great for lunches. Its very simple, just a basic cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynseey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
We have made this recipe 4 times now. It is moist and fairly easy to make.Last time we made it we let allrecipes increase th amounts to make(3) 8-inch round cakes (18 servings) and also made it extra healthy by substituting 1/3 the flour with lighter flours from the health food store. (We used unmeasured amounts of whole wheat pastry flour, brown rice flour and oat flour to make 1 cup (1/3 of the 18-serving recipe). We also ran out of applesauce, so we drained one can of 'lite' fruit cocktail and put it the food processor, which luckily turned into 1 cup of pureed fruit that had the same consistency of applesauce! It worked great! One time we removed 2 Tablespoons of the sugar and replaced it with 2 Tablespoons of molasses. This recipe is quite adaptable.....thanks Britney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I made this for a large group of people (tripled the recipe) at a soup kitchen we help with. They all loved it. Families from our church even took some home! I may have cooked it too long or it could have been a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTENW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I added the ginger and thought it still bland. It was a fine cake, no major complaints, but no major compliments either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made this for my Mom's birthday and everyone loved it. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe. I made it into 2 round pans and made a layer cake and they only needed about 23-25 minutes at the most to bake. Will make again for a delicious easy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Shirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
really good cake easy to make and smells terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Well, this was not my favorite. This is my first less then 5 stars I've ever given. Didn't have a great deal of flaavor and was dry. I may have baked it a bit too long. My oven and I have issues. I don't think I'll make this again. I'll try another spice cake sometime. It was easy but not didn't tickle my taste buds. Family thought it was O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
texture and taste excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nesconset, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States