Applesauce Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I have nothing but positive things to say about this recipe!! It's great!! I omitted the raisins (unfortunately, my family does not care for them like I do) and spread cream cheese frosting overall. OHHHH sooo good!! Thanks Corwynn for sharing this one...its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Wow! I just baked this cake an hour ago, and had to write a review. I was nervous about baking a cake with no eggs, or milk so I was expecting the worst. It came out GREAT. I changed a lot of the recipe - I added about 3/4 cup of cocoa powder w/the dry ingredients, omitted the raisins/cloves, used about a half cup extra of applesauce, and about a tablespoon of vegetable oil, and baked it in a small round springform pan. I topped it with a simple glaze (ref: vanilla glaze recipe on this site), and then sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar. It came out fantastic this is a great recipe to get creative with - Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I gave this cake 5 stars even though mine didn't turn out the way I expected, which was my own fault--I used Spenda instead of white sugar and the cake did not rise well. The flavor is still excellent, but I have a very dense cake. It is recommended that for cakes to use an 8" pan instead of 9" and add 1/2 c. non-fat dry milk and 1/2 tsp. soda for every cup of Spenda. Wish I would have checked into this before! Also, I left out the raisins, would be better with walnuts I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Absolutely AMAZING! I used about 2/3 cup applesauce sweetened with brown sugar, added a pinch of nutmeg, and only used about a half teaspoon of salt. I substituted the butter with 1/2 cup margarine and 1 tbsp fat free milk. I also used an 8x8 inch pan, and it turned out simply fantastic. It is in all honesty the best spice cake I have ever had. That applesauce adds an awesome flavor and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Very easy, very moist, and very tasty recipe. I omitted raisins only because I didn't have any in the pantry; and added 1 tsp. vanilla. The cake baked perfectly in exactly 50 minutes using a 9 inch square pan. I sprinkled a little powdered sugar on top before serving. My husband devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Super easy and super delicious AND healthy too! Cloves were a bit strong. Will reduce next time. Only alteration was I put in 1/2 cup of finely chopped walnuts! Yum I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Awesome. I didn't have ground cloves on hand, so I used allspice. I also substituted dark brown sugar for the white. Definitely a keeper. Thanks, Corwynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJdada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I was hesitant about trying this because I don't like spice cakes, but it was excellent! My husband left (maybe) 2 pieces for me and ate the rest within a day. I wish that it made a bigger cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
Best I've found yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Awesome! I only tweaked the amount of spices (I always add more cinnamon!). It's fabulous with cream cheese frosting. I made 12 cupcakes; they were baked perfectly in 30 minutes. Excellent - I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEFTOVERSAGAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States