Applesauce Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I have nothing but positive things to say about this recipe!! It's great!! I omitted the raisins (unfortunately, my family does not care for them like I do) and spread cream cheese frosting overall. OHHHH sooo good!! Thanks Corwynn for sharing this one...its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Wow! I just baked this cake an hour ago, and had to write a review. I was nervous about baking a cake with no eggs, or milk so I was expecting the worst. It came out GREAT. I changed a lot of the recipe - I added about 3/4 cup of cocoa powder w/the dry ingredients, omitted the raisins/cloves, used about a half cup extra of applesauce, and about a tablespoon of vegetable oil, and baked it in a small round springform pan. I topped it with a simple glaze (ref: vanilla glaze recipe on this site), and then sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar. It came out fantastic this is a great recipe to get creative with - Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I gave this cake 5 stars even though mine didn't turn out the way I expected, which was my own fault--I used Spenda instead of white sugar and the cake did not rise well. The flavor is still excellent, but I have a very dense cake. It is recommended that for cakes to use an 8" pan instead of 9" and add 1/2 c. non-fat dry milk and 1/2 tsp. soda for every cup of Spenda. Wish I would have checked into this before! Also, I left out the raisins, would be better with walnuts I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Absolutely AMAZING! I used about 2/3 cup applesauce sweetened with brown sugar, added a pinch of nutmeg, and only used about a half teaspoon of salt. I substituted the butter with 1/2 cup margarine and 1 tbsp fat free milk. I also used an 8x8 inch pan, and it turned out simply fantastic. It is in all honesty the best spice cake I have ever had. That applesauce adds an awesome flavor and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Very easy, very moist, and very tasty recipe. I omitted raisins only because I didn't have any in the pantry; and added 1 tsp. vanilla. The cake baked perfectly in exactly 50 minutes using a 9 inch square pan. I sprinkled a little powdered sugar on top before serving. My husband devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Awesome. I didn't have ground cloves on hand, so I used allspice. I also substituted dark brown sugar for the white. Definitely a keeper. Thanks, Corwynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJdada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Super easy and super delicious AND healthy too! Cloves were a bit strong. Will reduce next time. Only alteration was I put in 1/2 cup of finely chopped walnuts! Yum I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I was hesitant about trying this because I don't like spice cakes, but it was excellent! My husband left (maybe) 2 pieces for me and ate the rest within a day. I wish that it made a bigger cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
My kids just ate this up! It was moist and easy to throw together. We'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
Best I've found yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States