Applesauce Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Made this for my hubby who said it was definately "a contender". He found the spices just right. My only complaint was that it didn't rise hardly at all, but that's probably something I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I was really excited about this cake, but it turned out very dry on the outside and almost raw on the inside and was lacking in flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS B
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Truly easy to make and perfect texture - you won't miss the egg. I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and reduced the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. according to other users' suggestions. I thought the cloves were a bit overpowering - next time I will make this using 1/4 tsp. ground cloves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This cake is delicious and the applesauce makes it SO moist! I didn't change a thing and it is now my favorite snack cake recipe. I made one for my neighbors and they loved it, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Oh my yummy! This cake was awesome. I made it for hubbys birthday and he and the kids loved it. The only changes I made were adding a cream cheese frosting and a shredded zucchini (I was out of raisins). It was a little rich with the frosting but great just the same. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe! (In case anyone has trouble finding a frosting recipe like I did, 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar, sifted, 1/3 cup lite cream cheese, 1/2 tsp vanilla Combine and spread on warm cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This was perfect. So yummy, was gone the same day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I liked the flavor of the cake, but the texture turned out too dry and was not coming out of the pan easy. I think that the applesauce wasn't a distinguishable flavor over the cloves. Just tasted like spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFASMITH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
i had many leftover apples, so i made an applesauce(found the recipe in this site also). i was too lazy to chop the raisins or mix it properly, so i just dumped all ingredients and adding semi-ground walnuts (about 100 gr) in a bowl, combine it by hand, and put it in a loaf pan. The cake didn't rise well (well, had been expected because i didn't mix it properly) but it tasted soooo good that i cancelled taking it to office and eaten it myself within 3 days. super yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Wonderful recipe- very moist and (my favorite) it's very versatile! I used about 2 tsp apple pie spice instead of the cinnamon/cloves b/c I was out of cloves post-Christmas, omitted the raisins (DH hates them) and frosted it with a buttercream frosting. I also made it with homemade McIntosh Applesauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Awesome. I didn't have ground cloves on hand, so I used allspice. I also substituted dark brown sugar for the white. Definitely a keeper. Thanks, Corwynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJdada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States