Applesauce Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Wow! I just baked this cake an hour ago, and had to write a review. I was nervous about baking a cake with no eggs, or milk so I was expecting the worst. It came out GREAT. I changed a lot of the recipe - I added about 3/4 cup of cocoa powder w/the dry ingredients, omitted the raisins/cloves, used about a half cup extra of applesauce, and about a tablespoon of vegetable oil, and baked it in a small round springform pan. I topped it with a simple glaze (ref: vanilla glaze recipe on this site), and then sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar. It came out fantastic this is a great recipe to get creative with - Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Pretty good. To avoid the dryness, don't bake quite so long. Would be good with an icing (caramel or cream cheese) to balance the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Made this for my hubby who said it was definately "a contender". He found the spices just right. My only complaint was that it didn't rise hardly at all, but that's probably something I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I was really excited about this cake, but it turned out very dry on the outside and almost raw on the inside and was lacking in flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS B
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Truly easy to make and perfect texture - you won't miss the egg. I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and reduced the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. according to other users' suggestions. I thought the cloves were a bit overpowering - next time I will make this using 1/4 tsp. ground cloves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This cake is delicious and the applesauce makes it SO moist! I didn't change a thing and it is now my favorite snack cake recipe. I made one for my neighbors and they loved it, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Oh my yummy! This cake was awesome. I made it for hubbys birthday and he and the kids loved it. The only changes I made were adding a cream cheese frosting and a shredded zucchini (I was out of raisins). It was a little rich with the frosting but great just the same. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe! (In case anyone has trouble finding a frosting recipe like I did, 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar, sifted, 1/3 cup lite cream cheese, 1/2 tsp vanilla Combine and spread on warm cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This was perfect. So yummy, was gone the same day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I liked the flavor of the cake, but the texture turned out too dry and was not coming out of the pan easy. I think that the applesauce wasn't a distinguishable flavor over the cloves. Just tasted like spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFASMITH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
i had many leftover apples, so i made an applesauce(found the recipe in this site also). i was too lazy to chop the raisins or mix it properly, so i just dumped all ingredients and adding semi-ground walnuts (about 100 gr) in a bowl, combine it by hand, and put it in a loaf pan. The cake didn't rise well (well, had been expected because i didn't mix it properly) but it tasted soooo good that i cancelled taking it to office and eaten it myself within 3 days. super yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States