Applesauce Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is so moist and delicious but I'd leave out the raisins and add a little bit of simple icing. Also, I'll probably double the recipe next time and make a 9X13-this will not be enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Tried this recipe today and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Just baked this recipe. It baked quickly, done in 30 minutes and did not rise much, however the cake tasted light. Seems like there is a bit too much salt in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Super easy and super delicious AND healthy too! Cloves were a bit strong. Will reduce next time. Only alteration was I put in 1/2 cup of finely chopped walnuts! Yum I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Very easy, very moist, and very tasty recipe. I omitted raisins only because I didn't have any in the pantry; and added 1 tsp. vanilla. The cake baked perfectly in exactly 50 minutes using a 9 inch square pan. I sprinkled a little powdered sugar on top before serving. My husband devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Wow! I just baked this cake an hour ago, and had to write a review. I was nervous about baking a cake with no eggs, or milk so I was expecting the worst. It came out GREAT. I changed a lot of the recipe - I added about 3/4 cup of cocoa powder w/the dry ingredients, omitted the raisins/cloves, used about a half cup extra of applesauce, and about a tablespoon of vegetable oil, and baked it in a small round springform pan. I topped it with a simple glaze (ref: vanilla glaze recipe on this site), and then sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar. It came out fantastic this is a great recipe to get creative with - Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Pretty good. To avoid the dryness, don't bake quite so long. Would be good with an icing (caramel or cream cheese) to balance the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Made this for my hubby who said it was definately "a contender". He found the spices just right. My only complaint was that it didn't rise hardly at all, but that's probably something I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I was really excited about this cake, but it turned out very dry on the outside and almost raw on the inside and was lacking in flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MRS B
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Truly easy to make and perfect texture - you won't miss the egg. I added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and reduced the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. according to other users' suggestions. I thought the cloves were a bit overpowering - next time I will make this using 1/4 tsp. ground cloves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States