Applesauce Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!! I followed the recipe - except that I used 3/4c whole wheat flour and 3/4c white flour- and everything was organic- and the applesauce I had was homemade. This is a good recipe!! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
35 min. and it was done, moist, sweet, and just plain good. The toothpick came out clean in 30 min. but I put it in for another 5 and I'm glad I did. I made the applesauce from scratch too. I wouldn't put icing on this one though, its kind of muffiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe!! I would say about 4 cooked apples makes a cup and this recipe does not need salt. I put only a dash of cloves, I think a 1/2 teaspoon would be strong , I also added a couple dashes of nutmeg and a few more dashes of cinnoman.And for a healthier version omit the butter and use canola oil. Before throwing the cake in the oven I also put more applesauce blobs on the top and "swirled" them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica Awotwi Clay
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This cake is so good...at least I thought so. My husband said it was ok then said it was pretty good by his third piece. I am glad I didn't add the cloves. I did also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and cinnamon glaze when cake was done. Made it in my bundt pan. Next time will double recipe to get a bigger cake. Tasty...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Awotwi Clay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
It was easy to make. Obtained a messy, sticky goo upon chopping the raisins with my food processer. Should be left as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Yummy! I didn't have cloves, instead used nutmeg. I also baked it in a muffin pan for 35 minutes. Topped them with butter frosting. Not one was left. Next time, I'll add walnuts. Super easy! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
instead of raisons, I added a cup of crushed pineapple. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This cake is fantastic! Very moist with great flavor, and so easy to make! I didn't use raisins or cloves, so I added a 1/4 tsp. more cinnamon, and it came out great. Perfect flavor. I also used 1/4 cup canola oil instead of 1/2 cup butter. I wil definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This cake is absolutely scrumptious! My husband is still raving about it. The only issue I had with it is that it fell apart when it was cut. Nevertheless, it was extremely moist and delicious and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was really good. I used it for my daughter's first birthday. The only change I made was to add nutmeg instead of cloves, because my mil is allergic to cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States