Applesauce Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Made this cake for my son's first birthday twice...once for family and once for his party. Everyone gobbled it up both times. I have since started making the recipe as muffins instead of cake. I use whole wheat flour instead of white and nobody in my house has noticed the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Can't get much simpler than this - what a nice little cake! Great on it's own, but adding nuts & some cream cheese frosting would be a welcome addition too. (I left out the raisins 'cause just not into them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is the best! I doubled the recipe, since my husband would have been disappointed if I hadn't. I have made this several times. It always turns out very moist. I only use homemade applesauce for this recipe - out of this world. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very moist cake. Have already been asked for receipe. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Great recipe. The people who tasted this cake said it was one of the best cakes I had ever made. Hope they were referring to the recipe and not my baking :) I replaced 1/2 cup white flour with 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and used homemade chunky applesauce. I also reduced the sugar to 3/4 cups (my applesauce was sweetened). Will double the recipe next time as it didn't really make alot. As another reviewer suggested, a cream cheese icing would go really well with this cake. Might also try adding a bit of lemon zest next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!! I followed the recipe - except that I used 3/4c whole wheat flour and 3/4c white flour- and everything was organic- and the applesauce I had was homemade. This is a good recipe!! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
35 min. and it was done, moist, sweet, and just plain good. The toothpick came out clean in 30 min. but I put it in for another 5 and I'm glad I did. I made the applesauce from scratch too. I wouldn't put icing on this one though, its kind of muffiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe!! I would say about 4 cooked apples makes a cup and this recipe does not need salt. I put only a dash of cloves, I think a 1/2 teaspoon would be strong , I also added a couple dashes of nutmeg and a few more dashes of cinnoman.And for a healthier version omit the butter and use canola oil. Before throwing the cake in the oven I also put more applesauce blobs on the top and "swirled" them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misss_e
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This cake is so good...at least I thought so. My husband said it was ok then said it was pretty good by his third piece. I am glad I didn't add the cloves. I did also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and cinnamon glaze when cake was done. Made it in my bundt pan. Next time will double recipe to get a bigger cake. Tasty...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misss_e

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
It was easy to make. Obtained a messy, sticky goo upon chopping the raisins with my food processer. Should be left as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States