Applesauce Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Loved this!!!! I followed the recipe, except I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of the whole cup of white. My kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made it with gluten-free flour, half the sugar, and no raisins (didn't have any), and the flavor was fantastic. The texture was very good, but it fell apart, due, I'm sure, to the gluten-free flour. I will add an egg or two in future to help with that. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Can't give this a 5 because I didn't follow exactly, but it's a great recipe- love it! I mixed all the dry ingredients together (no raisins), added 1 tbsp lemon juice, then the applesause and 1/2 cup canola oil. Mixed together and made 14 cupcakes (baked at 350 for 25 min). I LOVED the taste. I added the spice amounts as indicated and thought it was perfect! I've made this a second time and added the chopped raisins. The addition of the chopped raisins really changes the flavor of the cake. I feel like the raisin flavor overpowers all the spices in the cake and that may be why a lot of reviewers felt it needed more spice. I'll keep this as a go-to recipe, but won't be adding raisins again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I first made this cake this past October. I had applesauce to use up, and this sounded like a nice fall dessert/snack cake. It far surpassed my expcetations. Very moist, buttery and the apple flavor is perfect! The pinch of salt perfectly brings out the butter flavor and balances the sweetness. I use chunky applesauce that is sweetened, since that's what I keep on hand for my kids, and it turns out great...not at all too sweet. I just made it again for the fifth time. It's a perfect, homey, comfort-food snack cake, brunch cake or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
great!!! i added a few things to it. i decreased the amount of raisins. And then added dried cranberries. Next time i am planning on adding walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I found this recipe to be delightful! Perfect just the way it is, but I add black walnuts for my dad's benefit. My husband eats the HECK out of this cake! I've made it so many times I can make it from memory now. It goes GREAT with Bumblebee's caramel icing! With the icing, though, I don't use as much powdered sugar as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
A long while ago I googled "cake no milk no eggs" (did not have any in the house) and up popped this recipe. It has been a favorite ever since. I am not a fan of raisins so I left them out, but the cake was moist and delicious anyway. My kids love it and it is so quick and easy. Powdered sugar and whipped topping makes this cake a little piece of spice cake goodness. Baking one now and wanted to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was fantastic! I did subsitute allspice for the cloves and put a lovely cream cheese frosting on top-it was moist, delicious, and didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delicious, moist and relatively healthy! i used 1/4 cup of butter and 1 1/4 cup of applesauce. I reduced the cloves to 1/4 tsp, reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and omitted the raisins. I baked in a 8X8 pan for exactly 40 minutes and it came out perfect! I bet this would taste really good with chopped walnuts and finished off with cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States