Applesauce Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Easy and delicious. My family devoured it. When I ran out of sugar and raisins, I made it with brown sugar and dried blueberries and it was every bit as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was delicious. I was concerned about no eggs, and the batter was very thick, but I followed the directions and it was really, really good. I chopped the plumped raisins with a chef knife and substituted coconut oil for the butter since I'm on a diary free diet and used an 8x8 pan since that's all I had. Wow, great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My husband said this was one of the best snack cakes he has ever had. I switched up the recipe by using 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugar and a teaspoon and a half of apple pie spice instead of the cinnamon and cloves. Great way to sneak in more fruit to my kid's diet. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is OK. I think it needs more spice (like maybe some allspice, ginger, and nutmeg), and definitely an egg added to the creamed butter and sugar for a little lift. Very easy and quick recipe. I used an 8x8 pan; it was done in 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I used shredded carrots instead of raisins and nutmeg and molasses instead of cloves. I got 12 very small cupcakes out of this, but they were very goood. More like cake than muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Delicious! My whole family loves them, even the 1 yo. I might use this recipe for the apple fest coming up! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Loved this!!!! I followed the recipe, except I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of the whole cup of white. My kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made it with gluten-free flour, half the sugar, and no raisins (didn't have any), and the flavor was fantastic. The texture was very good, but it fell apart, due, I'm sure, to the gluten-free flour. I will add an egg or two in future to help with that. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Can't give this a 5 because I didn't follow exactly, but it's a great recipe- love it! I mixed all the dry ingredients together (no raisins), added 1 tbsp lemon juice, then the applesause and 1/2 cup canola oil. Mixed together and made 14 cupcakes (baked at 350 for 25 min). I LOVED the taste. I added the spice amounts as indicated and thought it was perfect! I've made this a second time and added the chopped raisins. The addition of the chopped raisins really changes the flavor of the cake. I feel like the raisin flavor overpowers all the spices in the cake and that may be why a lot of reviewers felt it needed more spice. I'll keep this as a go-to recipe, but won't be adding raisins again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I first made this cake this past October. I had applesauce to use up, and this sounded like a nice fall dessert/snack cake. It far surpassed my expcetations. Very moist, buttery and the apple flavor is perfect! The pinch of salt perfectly brings out the butter flavor and balances the sweetness. I use chunky applesauce that is sweetened, since that's what I keep on hand for my kids, and it turns out great...not at all too sweet. I just made it again for the fifth time. It's a perfect, homey, comfort-food snack cake, brunch cake or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States