Applesauce Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This recipe had me scared for a bit. Read the review about the batter being too thick and upon mixing it seemed to be. I left out the raisins because my kids don't care for them, otherwise it was by the book. Poured (plopped?) the thick batter into the pan and smoothed it out. Baked it and everyone said it was delicious. My 6 year old is asking to make it again because it is so good! Thanks for the perfect cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Very good...just a tad too salty though. I'd cut the salt back to 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This cake is addictive! The butter makes it so tender and delicious! I had no raisins on hand, so I left them out. I was using homemade sweetened applesauce, so I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. I also used 1-1/2 tsp cinnamon instead of 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp cloves and added a splash of vanilla. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanThom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I just tried it today and added chocolate powder as suggested by one of the viewers and it is delicious! Will definitely bake this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Easy and delicious. My family devoured it. When I ran out of sugar and raisins, I made it with brown sugar and dried blueberries and it was every bit as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was delicious. I was concerned about no eggs, and the batter was very thick, but I followed the directions and it was really, really good. I chopped the plumped raisins with a chef knife and substituted coconut oil for the butter since I'm on a diary free diet and used an 8x8 pan since that's all I had. Wow, great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My husband said this was one of the best snack cakes he has ever had. I switched up the recipe by using 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugar and a teaspoon and a half of apple pie spice instead of the cinnamon and cloves. Great way to sneak in more fruit to my kid's diet. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is OK. I think it needs more spice (like maybe some allspice, ginger, and nutmeg), and definitely an egg added to the creamed butter and sugar for a little lift. Very easy and quick recipe. I used an 8x8 pan; it was done in 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I used shredded carrots instead of raisins and nutmeg and molasses instead of cloves. I got 12 very small cupcakes out of this, but they were very goood. More like cake than muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Delicious! My whole family loves them, even the 1 yo. I might use this recipe for the apple fest coming up! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States