Applesauce Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This recipe was quick and easy. I tried it out on my coworkers and they all have to have the recipe! I have made it 3 times in one week and it is quickly becoming famous. I do recommend using 1/4 teaspoon cloves instead of 1 teaspoon. Also, I didn't need to cook as long as the recipe said. This recipe also works great witht he KitchenAide stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GemCourtJD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This cake is quite good but I just can't leave anything without putting my mark on it I plumped raisins by soaking them in fresh orang juice and of course increased the the spices. But still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I didn't have a flute pan so I put the batter into a muffin pan (with paper liners) and baked for 20 minutes at 375 degrees F. They came out perfectly - moist and delicious! The batter doesn't rise very much so they don't have the big muffin tops some people like, but they are still wonderful. The recipe yielded 17 muffins and my boyfriend ate about 4 as soon as they came out of the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Fantastic - Every time I make this it disappears within a day!!! I used chunky applesauce for a different texture - fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I was concerned about a cake with no eggs but this was wonderful. Very light, moist and perfect in spice flavor. Reminds me of the taste of Boston Brown Bread but so light in texture. Used the most applesauce of all the recipes I saw. Hats off to your family's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This recipe was easy to make and turned out very moist. My husband and children loved it but it was a little bland for my taste. I think I would try a little more spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Excellent, dense and sweet. My mom added a bit too much salt, but even so it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was a great cake and easy to make. I didn't have a tube pan so I used 2, 8X8 pans. The recipes was delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This was an easy recipe to follow and gather the ingredients for! I didn't have a mixer to cream the butter and sugar, so I manually 'swished' it with my hands. That worked fine. I didn't have a tube pan to cook with, so I used a rectangular bread one. Not a good choice .. the top got burnt, but was able to be peeled off easily. (Definitely use the recommended pan.) The end result was nice and full of spice! However, it proved to be too a little too sweet for me. The raisins are also a great addition to the cake. Perhaps using an unsweetened apple sauce would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Delicious! I made half a recipe. I used golden raisins, which I soaked in hot water for a few minutes. I baked it in an 8-inch square pan for 30 minutes. It smelled great while baking and had a very good flavor and texture; not overly sweet and just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States