Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2000
We really enjoyed eating this cake. My boys--2 and 5--liked helping to make it. We made it yesterday and it is still moist and fresh-tasting today. (I used a 9-inch springform pan which worked fine. The cake looked nice on display after we removed the ring from the springform pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I make this cake often and I still haven't tried it with the raisins and walnuts. It's wonderful with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Moist, full of cinnamon flavour. I couldn't believe that I didn't need any eggs. Everybody had to have seconds and thirds and...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I made it without any cloves (we don't like cloves) and loved it!! I was a little concerned about the density of the batter while I was mixing it but the cake turned out beautifully. I'll definitely be making this again!! (Thanks!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I love making this cake. Some times I add some oatmeal to it. I like the no eggs or oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
This is one of the best applesauce cake recipes I have ever used. It is a perfect size in an 8 inch square pan. I used butter not margarine, and baked it for 45 minutes. I thought the batter was very stiff and was a little worried, but it came out perfect. I used the ingredients exactly as listed. I dusted it with powdered sugar when it was still slightly warm and served it. They all loved it including the grandchildren. Thanks for a great recipe, I'll use it many times I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I really enjoyed this cake. I had never made applesauce cake before, and I was pleased with the results. I didn't have any raisins, so I chopped up an apple to add into the mix. It turned out dense and moist. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This was yummy. It tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I have been a lurker around the allrecipes site for a few years now and many of the recipes I use have come from this site but I have never reviewed anything here before because I hate signing up for stuff online (usually leads to tons of spam) but this recipe compelled me to sign up so that I could leave my review! What a wonderful cake!! I was looking for something that used no eggs nor oil, and I found this one. I was a bit skeptical but decided to try it anyway and it came out of the oven about 20 minutes ago. YUM!! My 7 year old (mr. picky)is eating some now. If I could give it 6 stars I would. I would suggest to the reviewer that had a bad experience with it, to try again. Perhaps you had a bad batch of flour or something else that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
This was so quick, easy and SO delicious. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States