Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Bland nothing! This was loaded with flavor! I did use spelt flour, and thick homemade unsweetened applesauce, and it was fantastic. Next time I will halve the sugar, though, and I think this would be excellent with some diced apple for even more "zip" and moistness. I don't like raisins normally, but it was great in this. COOKING NOTE: Doubled recipe and baked in bundt pan at 325 for one hour. The crusty edges were the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe, only adding 2tbsp flour and 1/4 cup extra applesauce (for high altitude). It was moist and flavorful, and was gone in one sitting. The second time, I doubled the recipe, but used 1/3 the butter and 1/4 the sugar, and added a pint jar of apples from my home-canned stock. I then frosted it with maple cream cheese frosting (from this site). My husband couldn't stop eating it! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
my husband loves it! Fast to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Turned out fabulous, big hit with the hubby! Was surprised considering there is no egg in the recipe. I made the following substitutions: whole-wheat flour instead of white brown sugar instead of white no cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crooksette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This cake was quite tasty and very easy to make. But it did not look pretty at all. The kind of cake to make for snacking, not to bring to an event or have for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Great loaf! I was sort with the applesauce maybe by 5 tablespoons and added rum to make the one cup. I also only used 1/3 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. My applesauce was already sweetened, so the adjustments were perfect! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drodrigues101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
With all the applesauce in this recipe, I had hoped for a moister cake. It also seems to be lacking a bit in flavor, I might try adding more cinnamon or some allspice. Cream cheese frosting on top is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
My ladies church group really loved this cake. It was the hit of the meeting. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I made this cake using my own homemade applesauce (apples, cinnamon, vanilla, butter and brown sugar) which I made too much of and went in search of something to do with it. I found this recipe and was skeptical about this cake not calling for eggs. The batter is very thick and I was doubtful, but this cake came out surprisingly delicious and very moist. It rose nicely, too. I used a bundt pan and ended up having to add an additional 20 minutes baking time. Next time I will include the walnuts and raisins but even without, it turned out great! I wrapped half of this cake in aluminum foil and froze it, it still tastes great and is there for whenever unexpected company stops by. This recipe is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
My son loves this cake and has asked me to make it again twice since I originally tried it about a month ago! Instead of raisins (he doesn't like raisins) I added 1 whole apple finely chopped. Each time I make it I'm going to try other fruits and veggies in it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States