Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Tasted good but middle didn't set. I tried to put it in the oven a little longer, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Quick, easy and good. I thought this would be gooey in the middle... it wasn't... but it was moist. I also accidentally used nutmeg in place of cloves. This is still good and I would make it again :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was good but nothing spectacular. I didn't have any raisins so I cut up a Johnathon apple instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kma733

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
After reading all the reviews, I was looking forward to making and eating this cake. I had my doubts when pouring it into the pan--it was so thick. My family all felt it was too dry and not really tasting of apples. It was like a spice and nut cake. If I make it again, I'll add a lot more applesauce and maybe an egg or two to moisten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunazen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Awesome cake even with my alterations. No cloves, so I added a dash more of cinnamon, and I used half brown sugar, half white. Since I only had half a cup of applesauce, I only made a half batch and baked it in a loaf pan for 21 minutes. Came out so delicious I momentarily considered eating the whole thing immediately. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was a wonderful cake, but I found I had to add more applesauce to make it moist. I added a total of 3 cups of homemade applesauce and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I doubled the recipe using 3 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of oatmeal. Instead of white sugar, I used brown sugar and added 2 tsp of vanilla. I omitted the cloves and added a little more applesauce, cinnamon, and added a chopped apple at the end. My husband loved it and he is a health nut. He devoured the entire loaf in one sitting which is the first time ever. It was moist and personally I thought it wasn't sweet enough but my 1 year daughter loved it as well as my husband. That's all that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Bland nothing! This was loaded with flavor! I did use spelt flour, and thick homemade unsweetened applesauce, and it was fantastic. Next time I will halve the sugar, though, and I think this would be excellent with some diced apple for even more "zip" and moistness. I don't like raisins normally, but it was great in this. COOKING NOTE: Doubled recipe and baked in bundt pan at 325 for one hour. The crusty edges were the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe, only adding 2tbsp flour and 1/4 cup extra applesauce (for high altitude). It was moist and flavorful, and was gone in one sitting. The second time, I doubled the recipe, but used 1/3 the butter and 1/4 the sugar, and added a pint jar of apples from my home-canned stock. I then frosted it with maple cream cheese frosting (from this site). My husband couldn't stop eating it! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
my husband loves it! Fast to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States