Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I was looking for a recipe that used only 1 cup of applesauce so I could use up last years homemade applebutter. The substitution worked great! I did add about a 1/4 cup of water because the applebutter was a lot thicker than applesauce. Sure glad a reviewer mentioned how thick the batter was, otherwise I might have thought there was a mistake in the recipe. You can barely call it batter, its more like refrigerator cookie dough before its chilled. I like this a lot better than my old applesauce cake & will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This recipe is the same one my mother gave me from the Fanny Farmer Cookbook Seventh Edition...it is the best applesauce cake EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I made this substituting 1/2 cup of agave nectar for the sugar and 1 cup of whole wheat flour for white, and it turned out great! Very easy to make and had a nice flavor and texture- ideal for breakfast/brunch, or a healthy snack or dessert. Will definitely make this again! Note: baking time was only about 15 minutes in my oven in a 9" square pan, so make sure to check well before the instructed 40 minutes are up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
the first applesauce cake i have ever made ...omg so gooood:> i actually planned to made something else today. but i found that i ran out of eggs and milk ...then this recipe just appeared on time!~ thx but i left out the cloves(we don't really like it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
SOOO yummy. I made a cream cheese frosting to top it off with. I omited the raisins and added extra Walnuts. Perfect for Company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Warning, this cake won't last a day! This heavy fruity cake goes fast. Don't let the egg thing throw you it turns out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Fantastic recipe! I made muffins and they were absolutely delicious. I added a teaspoon of nutmeg and omitted the raisins and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I love to cook but hate to bake. This was easy, good and makes a lot. I doubled the recipe for a 10 x 14 pan and came out great. What more can you ask of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I have made this several times and kept forgetting to come on here and review it! This is an AWESOME cake! I added 1/4 tsp of vanilla to the batter, but other than that, I didn't do ANYTHING different! This cake is great JUST by following these instructions in this recipe! The only thing is for some reason my oven stinks at browning tops of things, so at the end of the baking, I turned the broiler on for about 3 mins to brown the top! My husband LOVES this cake! A new family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
We mow thru eggs, so it's nice to not have to use them in this. And it's so quick and easy. At the last minute before sticking it in the oven, I decided to give the batter a couple shakes of salt,and gave it another quick spin with the mixer. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It makes a good Sunday morning breakfast as we rush out the door for church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States