Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Made this to take to my daughter's kindergarten class for snack. It tasted good but I was expecting more of an apple taste - it actually tasted almost like gingerbread. I would probably reduce the cloves next time. I doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 9 x 13 pan and it takes longer to cook that way, so it was a bit hard to get the middle cooked through. Overall the kids seemed to like it and I would probably make it again as a filling snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Easy, tastes great, did I say easy? I just whipped this up at midnight, so we can have it with breakfast and I have to say it is the easiest cake I have made. I made it exactly as the recipe shows, minus the nuts. I made it even easier by using my microwave bundt pan and this beautiful cake was baked in 10 minutes! It filled the bundt perfectly. It is a little denser than a typical boxed cake, but makes a perfect breakfast treat. Could even be sliced thin and buttered. Will be making again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STEPHABOO
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have tons of canned applesauce so decided to try this. Very good recipe. I had to take a picture of this. I took this out of the oven and thought "someone must love me". There was an image of a heart ontop of the cake. As far as the flavor, very good. Amazing it did not call for eggs. Quick and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHABOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I halved this recipe and baked into five cupcakes. No nuts, raisins or cloves in the cupboard, so they were plain. Baked at 350 for 22 minutes. They were great! Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Oh my god! This is amazing. Super easy to make and tastes wonderful. Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This got such rave reviews that I thought I would try it! It was very disappointing; extremely dry and quite flavourless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Tasty, moist and quick to prepare. Really doesn't need frosting! This was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I am not sure what happened to those who felt this was too dry. This cake is very moist, and had a wonderful flavor. This recipe is easy enough to bake in the morning to carry to work to share with co-workers as a breakfast treat instead of donuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Instead of cloves, and raisins (because I didn't have any), I used chocolate chips, and made them into muffins, cooking for about 22minutes. They turned out AMAZING. I will make these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I make this recipe so often for breakfast. It's easy and the whole family loves it! I made a few modifications by using white whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, leaving out the raisins and nuts (it seems to make it less dry), and trading the ground clothes for a little but of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States