Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I doubled the applesauce, added walnuts, vanilla and dried cranberries and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I just made this and it is great. So easy but I did modify it because I was using all purpose gluten free flour. I added 1 xlarge egg to the mixture as gluten free flour takes a little more liquid than regular flour and also a little more than a tsp of baking soda. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
My husband liked it, I didn't. Thought it was on the dry side and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Swann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very dry and I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Had unsweetened applesauce I needed to use. Made this, was skeptical(no eggs), but great recipe. Not supper sweet which is good, a moist coffee cake, the husband is not crazy about raisins so used chocolate chips and pecans. 8x8 pan was just the right size for the 2 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This.is.a.good.basic.recipe...I.liked.the.No.Eggs.since.I.live.in.the remote.bush.of.Alaska...BUT...it.was.bland.so.I.doubled.the.spices...added 1/2.tsp.cardamom...1.tsp.salt...1.tsp.vanilla.and.doubled.the.nuts.and. raisins....DELICIOUS.now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This cake was delicious. Tasty and moist. I've made it twice now. The first time I used an 8x8 pan as suggested but the edges cooked way before the middle and the cake was somewhat soggy in the centre. The second time I made this recipe I used a 9x9 pan and had even baking throughout the cake. Yes, the cake is not as tall but it is evenly done and just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I added one egg to this recipe and it came out great! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I was intrigued as this recipe had no eggs. A co-worker gave me a ton of homemade applesauce after his harvest and I tried 3 different recipes I found online. The homemade applesauce was perfect as I was worried it might lack a certain sweetness as with store/processed applesauce. More than pleasantly surprise how good that cake was...and easy to make! Bakers will know that typically "spice" cake aren't particularly sweet; ones made with any combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves etc. I made it again with store-bought applesauce and just as happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Basic good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetSugar27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States