Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Fantastic recipe! I made muffins and they were absolutely delicious. I added a teaspoon of nutmeg and omitted the raisins and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flyingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I love to cook but hate to bake. This was easy, good and makes a lot. I doubled the recipe for a 10 x 14 pan and came out great. What more can you ask of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I have made this several times and kept forgetting to come on here and review it! This is an AWESOME cake! I added 1/4 tsp of vanilla to the batter, but other than that, I didn't do ANYTHING different! This cake is great JUST by following these instructions in this recipe! The only thing is for some reason my oven stinks at browning tops of things, so at the end of the baking, I turned the broiler on for about 3 mins to brown the top! My husband LOVES this cake! A new family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
We mow thru eggs, so it's nice to not have to use them in this. And it's so quick and easy. At the last minute before sticking it in the oven, I decided to give the batter a couple shakes of salt,and gave it another quick spin with the mixer. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It makes a good Sunday morning breakfast as we rush out the door for church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I've never made a cake before, and this turned out so yummy! Not too sweet, I used chopped up apples instead of raisins, and it was applelicious. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Raye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Not the best; a little dry. But everyone, even the 4 year old ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Tasted good but middle didn't set. I tried to put it in the oven a little longer, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Quick, easy and good. I thought this would be gooey in the middle... it wasn't... but it was moist. I also accidentally used nutmeg in place of cloves. This is still good and I would make it again :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was good but nothing spectacular. I didn't have any raisins so I cut up a Johnathon apple instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kma733

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
After reading all the reviews, I was looking forward to making and eating this cake. I had my doubts when pouring it into the pan--it was so thick. My family all felt it was too dry and not really tasting of apples. It was like a spice and nut cake. If I make it again, I'll add a lot more applesauce and maybe an egg or two to moisten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunazen

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States