Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
At first I thought a mistake was made because there were no eggs listed. After reading a review I saw that this was just the way the recipe was. I decided to give it a try and boy am I glad I did. I made a few changes and it turned out superb beauce it was such a good recipe to start with. I used brown suger and cut it back by 1/3. I toasted my walnuts and used unsalted butter, so I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt, just in case. I also grated in fresh nutmeg and since I doubled the recipe, I used 1 cup of oat bran for one of the cups of flour. My house smells divine, a perfect cake with a cup of tea or coffee any time of year but especially on a cold rainy day like today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Rincon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I came across this recipe after searching for something to make with my 2 year old using leftover applesauce. We made it as written, with the exception of obmitting the nuts. For us, this cake came out nicely! It had just the right texture and amount of moisture to be a sweet breakfast bread. I think the quality of this recipe depends strongly on the applesauce that you use. We used an unsweetened applesauce that was a bit tart. The cake came out beautifully - just the right level of sweetness for us! There wasn't any need to add a confectioner's glaze. I got up this morning to discover that Hubby had helped himself to three pieces, so this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
An excellent recipe. I drizzle a confectioners sugar glaze over top of the cake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Easy to make, not many ingredients, and the taste is fantastic. It really is the best I have ever made. There is no need to make any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is one of my family's favorite. For those of you who must eat glutten free, this recipe worked real well when I substited the flour for a gluten free "flour" blend. Try adding a simple sugar glaze for those with an extra sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lormathews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My 5 year old LOVES em! We make them as cupcakes & w/o peanuts (peanut free zone at school). I had brown sugar to use up, so I used 1/2 white & 1/2 light brown sugar. YUMM!!! Thanks for a great & EASY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
very easy. light, and mild. i made muffins, lined with cupcake holders, baked for 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
just made this and IT IS A "10"! i added 2 very ripe bananas that i had to use up and an extra teaspoon of cinnamon. i did not use cloves since did not have on hand. this recipe is a keeper! SO simple to make and customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
The" cake" is tasty and easy to make. I might categorize it as a bread. The recipe directs cook to pour batter. There is no way to pour the batter. It can be spread..not poured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious!! I didn't make any changes, and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States