Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Tasty, moist and quick to prepare. Really doesn't need frosting! This was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I am not sure what happened to those who felt this was too dry. This cake is very moist, and had a wonderful flavor. This recipe is easy enough to bake in the morning to carry to work to share with co-workers as a breakfast treat instead of donuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Instead of cloves, and raisins (because I didn't have any), I used chocolate chips, and made them into muffins, cooking for about 22minutes. They turned out AMAZING. I will make these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I make this recipe so often for breakfast. It's easy and the whole family loves it! I made a few modifications by using white whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, leaving out the raisins and nuts (it seems to make it less dry), and trading the ground clothes for a little but of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I am rating this based on the modifications I made..... I did not use raisins or walnuts, as I had neither in the house....... I used HOMEMADE apple sauce, used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar for a different depth of flavor, added one egg, and added 1 chopped GALA apple into the batter........ I made these in muffin form, so I greased the pan, and covered the sides and bottom of each cup with cinnamon sugar before putting the batter in each cup..... After they finished (about 20-25 minutes), I poked holes in each one while still hot, and drizzled caramel sauce over each one, allowing the sauce to drain into the muffins......Result??? ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Made without raisins or nuts as we don't like them in our cake. Fantastic! Soft, moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
At first I thought a mistake was made because there were no eggs listed. After reading a review I saw that this was just the way the recipe was. I decided to give it a try and boy am I glad I did. I made a few changes and it turned out superb beauce it was such a good recipe to start with. I used brown suger and cut it back by 1/3. I toasted my walnuts and used unsalted butter, so I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt, just in case. I also grated in fresh nutmeg and since I doubled the recipe, I used 1 cup of oat bran for one of the cups of flour. My house smells divine, a perfect cake with a cup of tea or coffee any time of year but especially on a cold rainy day like today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I came across this recipe after searching for something to make with my 2 year old using leftover applesauce. We made it as written, with the exception of obmitting the nuts. For us, this cake came out nicely! It had just the right texture and amount of moisture to be a sweet breakfast bread. I think the quality of this recipe depends strongly on the applesauce that you use. We used an unsweetened applesauce that was a bit tart. The cake came out beautifully - just the right level of sweetness for us! There wasn't any need to add a confectioner's glaze. I got up this morning to discover that Hubby had helped himself to three pieces, so this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
An excellent recipe. I drizzle a confectioners sugar glaze over top of the cake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Easy to make, not many ingredients, and the taste is fantastic. It really is the best I have ever made. There is no need to make any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States