Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I've modified this recipe by: 1. Substituting brown sugar for white 2. Add 1/4 tsp of nutmeg 3. Add 1/4 tsp allspice 4. Add 1 full cup raisins (instead of 1/2) 5. Exchanged walnuts for pecans I also make my own applesauce... Also, I start checking for the cake to be done within 25 minutes of going into the oven (I use an oven thermometer, and at 350f it takes a lot less time in my oven to bake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I use half the ingredients and use all spice instead of cloves because I really don't care for cloves. Just what I was looking for and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This cake is fantastic. We added a bit more applesauce and used dried cherries, and it was moist and delicious. Great way to use up all those fall apples. Next time will make some whipped cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I loooove the recipe :)))) I didn't have applesauce but used peach sauce instead:) a smidge of cinnamon for flavor..... Cream chz icing......MmmmmMmmm yummm Thanx a bunch for the recipe:) Will be used often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I doubled the applesauce, added walnuts, vanilla and dried cranberries and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I just made this and it is great. So easy but I did modify it because I was using all purpose gluten free flour. I added 1 xlarge egg to the mixture as gluten free flour takes a little more liquid than regular flour and also a little more than a tsp of baking soda. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
My husband liked it, I didn't. Thought it was on the dry side and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Swann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very dry and I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Had unsweetened applesauce I needed to use. Made this, was skeptical(no eggs), but great recipe. Not supper sweet which is good, a moist coffee cake, the husband is not crazy about raisins so used chocolate chips and pecans. 8x8 pan was just the right size for the 2 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This.is.a.good.basic.recipe...I.liked.the.No.Eggs.since.I.live.in.the remote.bush.of.Alaska...BUT...it.was.bland.so.I.doubled.the.spices...added 1/2.tsp.cardamom...1.tsp.salt...1.tsp.vanilla.and.doubled.the.nuts.and. raisins....DELICIOUS.now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States