Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This.is.a.good.basic.recipe...I.liked.the.No.Eggs.since.I.live.in.the remote.bush.of.Alaska...BUT...it.was.bland.so.I.doubled.the.spices...added 1/2.tsp.cardamom...1.tsp.salt...1.tsp.vanilla.and.doubled.the.nuts.and. raisins....DELICIOUS.now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This cake was delicious. Tasty and moist. I've made it twice now. The first time I used an 8x8 pan as suggested but the edges cooked way before the middle and the cake was somewhat soggy in the centre. The second time I made this recipe I used a 9x9 pan and had even baking throughout the cake. Yes, the cake is not as tall but it is evenly done and just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I added one egg to this recipe and it came out great! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I was intrigued as this recipe had no eggs. A co-worker gave me a ton of homemade applesauce after his harvest and I tried 3 different recipes I found online. The homemade applesauce was perfect as I was worried it might lack a certain sweetness as with store/processed applesauce. More than pleasantly surprise how good that cake was...and easy to make! Bakers will know that typically "spice" cake aren't particularly sweet; ones made with any combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves etc. I made it again with store-bought applesauce and just as happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Basic good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetSugar27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Just lovely. Quick, easy, and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My family of 9 loves this recipe! The applesauce does not necessarily need to be chilled. We use chunky applesauce and maybe add 2 tbsp extra of it. We also didn't add the cloves, nuts or raisins and it is still divine. In my oven it only took 35 mins. Super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This cake was very easy to make and came out very moist. However I can't taste any apple flavor at all. I think that the cloves kind of overpower the taste of the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a great recipe. I think DJ must have used baking powder instead of baking soda. Mine turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I just made this cake and it is the best applesauce cake I have ever tasted! :). Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States