Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is in my recipe box as "Pop-Pop's Applesauce Cake". My grandparents used to make this because my Pop-Pop had high cholesterol and this cake has no eggs. They used to make it with "Crisco" instead of butter, which actually contributed to the heart disease he died with. I've actually never made it with butter yet. I used melted coconut oil and it works great. Once it's baked, there is no coconut oil flavor. My recipe says to dissolve the baking soda in hot water and let it fizz, but it doesn't say how much water. I use 1/3 cup of hot water as I always thought this cake was a little dry. They always baked it in a 11x7 inch pan. I have doubled this in a 9x13 in. pan and frosted it with vanilla frosting also. This is a great old recipe in my family for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I've modified this recipe by: 1. Substituting brown sugar for white 2. Add 1/4 tsp of nutmeg 3. Add 1/4 tsp allspice 4. Add 1 full cup raisins (instead of 1/2) 5. Exchanged walnuts for pecans I also make my own applesauce... Also, I start checking for the cake to be done within 25 minutes of going into the oven (I use an oven thermometer, and at 350f it takes a lot less time in my oven to bake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I use half the ingredients and use all spice instead of cloves because I really don't care for cloves. Just what I was looking for and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This cake is fantastic. We added a bit more applesauce and used dried cherries, and it was moist and delicious. Great way to use up all those fall apples. Next time will make some whipped cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I loooove the recipe :)))) I didn't have applesauce but used peach sauce instead:) a smidge of cinnamon for flavor..... Cream chz icing......MmmmmMmmm yummm Thanx a bunch for the recipe:) Will be used often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I doubled the applesauce, added walnuts, vanilla and dried cranberries and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I just made this and it is great. So easy but I did modify it because I was using all purpose gluten free flour. I added 1 xlarge egg to the mixture as gluten free flour takes a little more liquid than regular flour and also a little more than a tsp of baking soda. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
My husband liked it, I didn't. Thought it was on the dry side and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very dry and I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Had unsweetened applesauce I needed to use. Made this, was skeptical(no eggs), but great recipe. Not supper sweet which is good, a moist coffee cake, the husband is not crazy about raisins so used chocolate chips and pecans. 8x8 pan was just the right size for the 2 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States