Applesauce Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is one of my favorite recipes. We make them as muffins. We take out the cloves, raisins and walnuts. I have also substituted 1/3 of the apple sauce for pumpkin. I cook them for about 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
My kids love this I always lightly butter the top while its hot and lightly dust the top with powdered sugar. It's so quick and easy to prepare. They like it as a breakfast or a snack even works well as a dessert. Just as good hot as it is cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louisa Cogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Very easy snack cake. . . and it is delicious! I like the hearty texture. We enjoyed it with coffee last night and breakfast this morning. Recommend! I have an old applesauce cake recipe that uses a yellow cake mix and is made in a bundt pan. It is "fancier" than this one, but I honestly prefer this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
It was ok. I thought it was going to be really good, nobody really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I made this cake for a church bake sale last year and now I am making another one for this years bake sale. It was a huge success. I did leave out the nuts and raisins as most people may have allergies. It was perfect and would not change another thing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Great recipe. I left out the clove and walnuts for a more simple flavor and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very simple & delicious made exactly as stated. I did use no sugar applesauce & thought it was sweet enough. I would cut down on the cloves just a little. |
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was amazing! I don't like nuts or raisins so I baked it without but it was still good. Easy for non-bakers like me to look like a pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I substituted canola oil for the margarine, and dried cranberries for the raisins, and this came our super. Now I am making it again,1 1/2 times the recipe to fit a 9x13" pan. It was gobbled up so fast that it didn't last until the weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is in my recipe box as "Pop-Pop's Applesauce Cake". My grandparents used to make this because my Pop-Pop had high cholesterol and this cake has no eggs. They used to make it with "Crisco" instead of butter, which actually contributed to the heart disease he died with. I've actually never made it with butter yet. I used melted coconut oil and it works great. Once it's baked, there is no coconut oil flavor. My recipe says to dissolve the baking soda in hot water and let it fizz, but it doesn't say how much water. I use 1/3 cup of hot water as I always thought this cake was a little dry. They always baked it in a 11x7 inch pan. I have doubled this in a 9x13 in. pan and frosted it with vanilla frosting also. This is a great old recipe in my family for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethanykt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States