Applesauce Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I used margarine instead of shortening and cooked it a lot longer. I used whole wheat flour too. I put a chocolate icing using Hersheys cocoa powder and confectioners sugar (recipe is on Hershey's box). It was delicious! Not exactly a brownie but not exactly cake either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
YYYYYUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMMMMMMYYYYYYYYY!!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
these were ok. it was more like cakes than brownies. i melted the shortening and chocolate, mixed the flour, baking powder, soda, and salt. then in a seperate bowl i mixed the eggs, sugar, and vanilla. i took the applesauce out of the fridge and when i opened it, i was disgusted to find green mold at the top of the applesauce. i used shortening instead. the brownies turned out kinda dry, but thats mostlikely my fault. thanx anywayz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
They were good, but more like cake then brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
While this recipe looked totally like a cake when it came out of the oven, wasn't dry, wasn't even very moist. Very bland, lacked any good "brownie" quality flavor, wasn't sweet either. While I don't mind a cake style brownie but this really, wasn't that at all. My apologies, I will not be making this again, no one cared for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
nice choc cake-nothing special-kk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
These were definitely very cakey, but they were also very tasty. Consider frosting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Very bland, and did not take nearly as long as the recipe said it would take for them to cook. I was going to put them in tins with other assorted goodies and give them out during the holidays, but not now that I've tried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Kinda bland, I made a chocolate frosting to put on when hot, so it made them more flavorful. I did not think they were all that moist either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I THOUGHT THAT THIS RECIPE WAS DRY.DID NOT CARE FOR THE APPLESAUCE IN IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gidget Hammers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States