Applesauce Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I had to make this for a project and they tasted amazing! They were so moist and had a sweet cinnamon taste to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe, though my fiance didn't. I ended re-trying the recipe without cocoa powder and replacing the chocolate chips with butterscotch and it turned out really good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Absolutely delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flin Flon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
one of my friends make this for donna kelley my aid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
nice way to use up applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Good. I replaced the eggs with Energ replacer, the sugar with agave syrup, the flour with a combo of quinoa flakes I found in my cupboard, gluten free flour, brown rice flour, powdered flax (you can guess why), some powdered chlorella, ground pumpkin seeds and a half scoop of brown rice protein powder. The choc chips make it yummy- probably a half cup. I wanted it to be delicious and ok for breakfast as a surprise treat. With all the protein and low glycemic agave it does that. Kids approved! (and my 5 yr old doesn't approve very much!) here's the thing: baked it 8 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I doubled the cocoa and they still didn't have a good chocolate flavor. Putting the chocolate chips, sugar and walnuts on the top was a mess. They fell apart when I cut them so I had to let them sit out all day in order dry out a bit and then cut them. I wouldn't call these brownies at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I really wanted to make these a little more "brownie-like" instead of "cakey." So I doubled the cocoa, added an extra egg, changed to 1/2t of baking powder and halved the flour and cinnamon. While still not a chewy, 'fudgy' brownie, we like them fine. If I try these again, I would use brown sugar instead of white in the topping, or try a chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I changed the recipe a tiny bit by using about 1/4 cup cocoa and only 1/3 to 1/2 cup of chocolate chips - just a personal preference. The brownies were really good! I was afraid they'd be almost TOO cake-y, but they ended up being just great. I under-baked it just slightly so that it was a little fudgier. Definitely some great brownies. I made about half the recipe but got about 16 pieces out of it instead of 24. 24 pieces would be a lot smaller and more like "bite-size".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very similar to a recipe I have used for years. We call them applesauce cake brownies because they more cake like. But please try these with the chocolate chips and sugar on top, it is what makes them sooooooooooo amazingly good. They don't need frostining, the frostining is already there. My favorite "cake" of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States