Applesauce Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Yes, it is more like a "cake" but very moist. It is not the traditional dense brownie. I mixed the chocolate chips inside, omitted the nuts and cinnamon and added used 1/4 c. of cocoa. My kids and husband loved them. Much healthier too. Made 1/2 recipe in 8x8. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
BE WARNED, these are not your typical brownies. they are more like a milk-chocolate cake. i followed the directions exactly, but i did mix the chips into the batter. my family liked it a lot and i would make it again as a light dessert or as a cake and frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
No, this is not a tradional brownie...it is more cake like, but this recipe is fabulous!!! Very moist. I added extra cocoa...1/4 cup, and a dash of vanilla extract, Baked it for 40 minutes, instead of the 30 from the recipe. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
These brownies came out fairly soft, but yummy none the less, especially since they are healthier than others! If you like your brownies really chocolate-y, I would recomend adding extra cocoa. I would also recomend stirring the chocolate chips and walnuts into the batter as appose to sprinkling them on. The walnuts can be skipped altogether for a more kid-friendly recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Don't know why all the trouble. They turned out GREAT 4 me. I frosted them with milk chocolate frosting and sprinkled tiny m & m's on top, and I was scared people would find me the next morning with my feet in the air with a big black smudge on my face, cause I almost ate the whole thing! Thanks for a great recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Alone the brownies are pretty good, but not what you think of when you hear "brownie". Something was missing so I frosted them with a peanut butter frosting, they were gone in a day! Good recipe to use up applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I make this brownie to work today and it was vanished soon after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I altered the recipe a little. I cut the flour down to 1.5 C, and used 1/2 a cup of cocoa. I skipped the cinnamon and nuts (I like them, but my family doesn't). The result: Five star chocolatey taste. The texture was a little springy, as you'd expect of a lower fat recipe, but very moist. It held together better than other cakey brownies I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
I tried this recipe today and it turned out great! The brownies were delicious and the recipe made plenty, too! The only thing I would do differently next time (and that will be soon because I'm making these for a business party for a friend) is to add the chips and nuts to the batter. With these on top, they were a little sticky to handle. Oh, they are so good and others who sampled them thought so, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States