Applesauce Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I was disappointed it was more of a cake than a brownie. Taste and texture was good as a cake. I will not make this if I want a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I was eager to try this recipe, given the previous reviews and its lower-fat status. I made half a recipe (in a 8x8), added twice as much cocoa (so that would be 2 tbsp) and added the chocolate chips into the batter (and served with a little drizzled chocolate syrup atop) and it was BEYOND DELICIOUS. I couldn't believe something could be so moist and not just fall apart. I couldn't remotely taste the applesauce, the amount of cocoa was perfect, and if anything tasted "off," the chocolate chips made up for it tenfold. I will DEFINITELY be making this all the time - my SO and myself ate practically half the pan in one sitting! Highly recommended, thanks a bunch for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
The nuts and chocolate went into the batter, it was good that way. It tastes more like applepie than brownies. But not bad. Our 1.2-year-old couldn't get enough. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallinn, Harju, Estonia
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Definitely not a brownie but still a very good (and healthier) chocolate cake. Like other reviewers suggested, I used more cocoa powder and added chocolate chips and nuts directly to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Very soft and moist and were even better the day after. They could've had more flavour (I did double the cocoa), but mixing in the nuts and chocolate chips helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I TRIED to like this... I added the extra cocoa powder. I put the chips in the "brownies". I also substituted Spenda/ brown sugar blend for the white sugar. I won't be making again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
great am snack for the kids at our daycare thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Very moist and tasty. However, a jelly roll pan was not big enough for this recipe. The brownie mixture made a huge mess at the bottom of my oven. Will use a larger pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
No, this is not a tradional brownie...it is more cake like, but this recipe is fabulous!!! Very moist. I added extra cocoa...1/4 cup, and a dash of vanilla extract, Baked it for 40 minutes, instead of the 30 from the recipe. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Yes, it is more like a "cake" but very moist. It is not the traditional dense brownie. I mixed the chocolate chips inside, omitted the nuts and cinnamon and added used 1/4 c. of cocoa. My kids and husband loved them. Much healthier too. Made 1/2 recipe in 8x8. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States