Applesauce Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
My kids asked if I could give this 6 stars! My oldest daughter made them all by herself- she left out the cinnamon, because the middle sister doesn't like it, and used 1/4 cup cocoa powder. This is definitely much more a cake than a brownie, but, whatever you call it, it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Yum!! I made these last night and my brownie loving hubby declared them to be amazing. A couple of changes, I add 3 heaping tablespoons of cocoa powder(We like chocolate!). Also, I skipped the last step and just mixed the chocolate chips in with the batter instead sprinkling on top. When the brownies cooled, I spinkled powdered sugar over the top. These are getting made again...and again...for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These turned out great. The only thing different I did was use vanilla instead of cinnamon. The kids loved them. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great, easy recipe. I used whole wheat flour and an extra T of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
So yummy--I didn't have nuts so left them out and baked in a regular cake pan cause I didn't have a jelly roll pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frigetwest
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Great recipe--SUPER moist, and you definitely can't tell they're low fat!! I actually doubled the cocoa powder because 2 tbsp. wasn't very chocolaty. If you like rich chocolate brownies, then I would recommend adding even more than four tablespoons! I also mixed in the chocolate chips and left out the walnuts and 2 tbsp. sugar. Whether to put in the cinnamon is more a matter of opinion: some people like it, some don't. I thought it was good but I might try it without when I'm in the mood for straight chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
there pretty good i enjoyed them=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Pretty good. I concur with the reviewers who remarked these are more like a cake than brownies. But, really, that's okay. They are very soft and gooey and better for you than regular brownies. I left out the extra sugar to top with as well as the walnuts, but did top with the chocolate chips just for the heck of it. They turned out well. Needed a bit longer than stated to bake, but I used two 8x8 pans for a full recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Several changes to this recipe 1/4 cup each oil and butter. 1 tsp Almond extract. 1/4 cup cocoa powder. I also did 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown which gives it a nice flavour as well as cuts down on the sugar. Next time I will cut it even more sugar as these still were quite sweet. 2 Tbsps Chia seeds and greased my pan with coconut oil. I will also try adding flax seeds instead of Chia for the health addition. Baked for 45 minutes. They were cake like on the first day and more like a brownie the next day. I did put the nuts and chips in the batter wich I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Umm!! Delicious! The applesauce made them stay wonderfully moist forever without actually making the chocolate taste like apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States