Applesauce Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very similar to a recipe I have used for years. We call them applesauce cake brownies because they more cake like. But please try these with the chocolate chips and sugar on top, it is what makes them sooooooooooo amazingly good. They don't need frostining, the frostining is already there. My favorite "cake" of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I altered the recipe a little. I cut the flour down to 1.5 C, and used 1/2 a cup of cocoa. I skipped the cinnamon and nuts (I like them, but my family doesn't). The result: Five star chocolatey taste. The texture was a little springy, as you'd expect of a lower fat recipe, but very moist. It held together better than other cakey brownies I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
So easy to make! I used my grandmas homemade applesauce, which is unsweetned because shes a diabetic. I used 1 cup of golden sugar, and instead of nuts i used coconut and I only had white chocolate chips... Turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greekqt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I did make a couple changes based on other reviews. I used the rest of the bag of chocolate chips (beside the cup on top) in the batter and skipped the walnuts because I don't like them. These are so moist and delicious, I can't keep my kids out of them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
They are DELICIOUS when chilled in the fridge! YUMMMM! Will definitely make again (and again)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Unbelievable. We used whole wheat white flour and did not put the topping on. They were gone in one sitting. Our next batch we left out the chocolate, increased the whole wheat flour by 2 tablespoons and used only 1 teaspoon of salt. Applesauce blondies! They were also gone in a flash. Great recipe for those who want to eat low calorie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Loved it! These were more cake-like, but that was good. They were so moist. I put in semi-sweet chocolate chips, it was delicious! My kids ate them all up so quickly, and I didn't feel too bad about that knowing that they were made with applesauce instead of oil, which cuts out the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I would not call these brownies. These are very moist, cake-like brownies with just a slight chocolate flavor. They don't really taste like applesauce, though. They are definitely better the second day when they have had time to set and cool. And we wouldn't have liked them nearly as much without the added chocolate chips, so don't leave those out. Overall, this wasn't a bad recipe, but not one that I will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I followed this to the "T" and mine a) looks nothing like the pic, lol (mine are very light-colored) and b) mine are VERY "appley"?? Chocolate taste very light, even with all the chips...they were ok to me, hubby LOVED them though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Bo Beary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ulrich1
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
yummmm! these are very cake-like but probably the best dessert i have ever ate. no joke. and come on they are under 100 calories! :) i cut the recipe in half and put them in a 8x8 pan also i added the chocolate chips in with the batter and i probably put in about 3/4 c. or even maybe a cup. i dont really know, i kinda eye-balled it, and didnt put in the cinnamon or nuts as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States