Applesauce Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
This bread is absolutely wonderful. I split the recipe, using half of all the ingredients and two eggs, with no problems. I also "doctored" the recipe a bit after reading the other reviews: For a half recipe, I used 2 tsp. of cinnamon, added 1 tsp. of nutmeg, and added 1 c. of chopped walnuts. When the bread was done, the walnuts had stayed suspended nicely throughout the batter. This was an excellent breakfast bread, not too sweet, and tasted fresh out of the oven after popping a slice into the microwave for 15 seconds and slathering it with real butter. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
I halve the ingredients to make one 9x5 loaf. I use 1/4 c. oil and 2/3 c. sugar to reduce the fat content. Added 1 c. walnuts. I've baked this for friends and gotten rave reviews. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Use 1/2 cup of oil - still VERY moist & delicious. Easy, easy to put together. I made one loaf & used the rest to make muffins. Muffins took less time to bake (about 30 min.) The loaf took just about 80 min. (I loaded the pan up) NICE-TASTY Thanks. Could even put a frosting on it, yum-m-m!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
Great recipe. Everyone at work loved it. Made some changes: Used only 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, added 1/4 tsp. each nutmeg and ginger. Instead of raisins, I used craisins and 1/4 cup finely chopped nuts. Also this can be made in 3 1/2 x 6 inch mini loaf pans and will make 6 at one time. Didn't have to make any high altitude adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
I left out the oil entirely and the bread was still very moist! I used craisins and walnuts but still felt a bit more flavour was needed. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg but would add a bit of salt next time and more fruit and nuts. A good beginning recipe that may need tweaking based on your own personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
I made a dozen muffins (I used a non-stick pan, omitted the grease and flour, and just lifted them out with a plastic knife). I was out of sour cream, so just used skim milk instead. I added some brown sugar for some extra sweetness (omitted the raisin), and reduced the oil a little. They were very moist and good! A great breakfast or anytime snack, and very inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I was really excited about making this bread after all the great reviews, but it definitely didn't work for me! I made it for a bunch of my friends, but I was very disappointed, and it was completely inedible. Maybe I did something wrong, but I didn't have a problem with any of the other breads I made to take, so I tend to think it's the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
I really liked this bread. I didn't use raisins and instead of applesauce I used homemade pear-applesauce. I also used about a teaspoon of juice from grated ginger root. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I thought this receipe was very good! I added a 1/2 c. of chopped walnuts to the batter and omited the raisins. I also sprinkled some brown sugar on top before baking. I thought it was great! The kids didnt seem to care for it much...but it didnt have gobs of frosting on it so what do they know? hehe Makes a good snack with coffee in the afternoon! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Very easy to make and very moist. Not a lot of flavor. I may try it using the ideas of adding craisins and nuts, or nutmeg and ginger. The recipe seemed to be lacking something (perhaps the raisins-I left them out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States