Applesauce Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Great recipe. I used unsweetened applesauce and added some chopped up apples - it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
AWESOME!!!! This is a new family favorite!!! I did add a bit of salt to the recipe, and even used strawberry yogurt in place of the sour cream once -- yum! This is really good, really moist, and disappears in a hurry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Definitely a keeper, but I made some changes that I think would make for a healthier loaf. I reduced the sugar by half without compromising the sweetness but doubled the raisins, substituted low fat low sugar vanilla yogurt for the sour cream, added 1/2 tsp nutmeg which I think made a good difference, and used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. Turned out wonderfully moist and yummy, with each slice having a good amount of raisins. Just make sure not to mix wet and dry ingredients too much. Will try adding wheat bran next time for even more healthiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I made four batches of this bread at once -- in small loaves (6 per recipe) for Rosh HaShanah gifts. Everyone LOVED it -- gave me rave reviews. I used a little less than 2 cups of sugar, and replaced the sour cream with vanilla non-fat yogurt (in lieu of adding vanilla). Per all the previous reviews, I added a dash of nutmeg, and a dash of salt too. The whole thing was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
It was really good, and definitely sweet enough for me, and I didn't use the full amount of sugar. I used plain yogurt intsead of sour cream, because I wanted to cut down on the fat, and i didn't use as much oil either, maybe a tbsp? Other than that, it was delicious. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINNABUNNY09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
A nice moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I made this recipe without reading the reviews.Silly me!The taste is wonderful,not too sweet.However mine was too moist,almost like a solid pudding inside.I will definately try it again with no more than 1/4 cup of oil.I might even eliminate the oil all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina & Rob V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This cake is moist and not too sweet. My 3- and 5-year-old kids really enjoyed it and requested I make it again right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This was very good, but I made a few alterations. Like some others, I took the oil down to 1/4c (only made one loaf), and increased the applesauce by a tablespoon or two (used my homemade chunky applesauce instead of the kind from a jar). Instead of raisins and walnuts, I added dried cranberries and pecans. Wonderful taste and texture - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Very good quick bread. I added a little extra cinnamon, and suspect some vanilla would be very good; plan to try it next time. I used a cream cheese frosting and it was delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States