Applesauce Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I use low fat plain yogurt instead of sour cream and slash 1/2 cup of sugar since the applesauce already been added sugar. Bread is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
this turned out great! I used less oil, brown sugar, and I added chocolate chips and nuts. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This bread was okay, not anything special, I ended up throwing the second loaf out after I had frozen it because it just didn't sound good. I used cinnamon applesauce and so the cinnamon flavor was very strong. I used buttermilk instead of the sour cream. It was a decent bread but I'd look for a different recipe next time I want to make applesauce bread. Husband didn't care for it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
this was very moist, i did use some suggestions from other readers. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown and used vanilla yogurt. Baking time for me was 60 minutes and I made a bundt cake out of it instead of a loaf. I will make again. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
My 4 year old daughter and I had lots of fun making this recipe, and then she and my 2 year old son DEVOURED it over the next 3 days! I think it's a great recipe for holiday giving as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
It was a pretty interesting recipe :) A good way to use up my left over applesauce that no one was eating. I added only about a 1/4 cup of oil, substituted raisins for diced apples, added a dash of salt, nutmeg, and a tsp of vanilla. I also added about a cup of oatmeal and subtracted a 1/2 cup flour. It's really good, but it needs more salt. Next time I'll add a tsp instead of just a dash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This bread is delicious. I used 1/2 c. oil, vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream, and added one tsp each of vanilla and apple pie spice. It was very moist and had good flavor. I only needed to bake for 70 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I subbed blueberry yogurt for the sour cream, doubled the cinnamon, used half brown sugar half white sugar and lowered the oil to 1/4 cup. It was perfect this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This Applesauce Bread is wonderful. The recipe is very versatile. I reduced the amount of oil to 1/2 a cup, added 1/2 brown sugar and one more tsp. of cinnamon. Next time, I may leave out the oil all together. I ommited the sour cream and added a 1/2 cup of milk. It turned out so moist and delicious! I made 3 mini loaves (filling the pans almost to the rim leaving just enough romm for the bread to rise) and froze the rest to use next week. This is a wonderful bread for a light dessert or with your morning coffee. Thank you for the great recipe Linda, it is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Great recipe. I used unsweetened applesauce and added some chopped up apples - it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States