Applesauce Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is a family favorite that is asked for at every family gathering. I've found that it cooks faster than the suggested 80min. Also, if I use three smaller loaf pans, it will bake in about 60 min. I also always use buttermilk and leave out the cinnamon since I use Motts applesauce with cinnamon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a nice quick bread to make. I added both chocolate chips and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I took this recipe as a base, and made it my own. I had leftover fruit pulp from the juicer this morning (rasberry, strawberry, orange, lemon, grapes, bananna), and it tasted so good, I didn't want to throw it away, I wanted to make it into a bread. Not knowing where to start, I came to allrecipes :o), and I used this recipe as a base. I had a cup of pulp, added 1/2 cup of cinnamon applesauce, and 1/2 cup of berry applesauce. I used half whole wheat flour, added a teaspoon of lemon zest, and added 1/4 cup of ground flax. Also, I added about a cup of craisins. I took off half a cup of sugar, because I thought it would be too sweet otherwise. I greased and sugared the loaf pans, and it was done in 65 minutes, not 80. Most delish! Thanks for the jumping board!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I tried this recipe last night when I had some applesauce, nuts, dried fruits and Equal that I wanted to use up. I tweaked it based on earlier reviews/comments and I think the two loaves came out fine. I put so much fruit into it that it even looked a bit like the English fruit cake. (Those are the ones that actually taste good, compared with the foul treacly-too-sweet variety so appropriately reviled here in the U.S.) Here's my ingredients list (the procedures were the same as the recipe): 3 eggs 1/2 cup sugar 1/2 cup SugarLite (Equal) 1/4 cup oil 2-1/4 cup applesauce (which was the rest of the bottle) 1/2 cup lite sour cream 2-1/4 cup all-purpose flour 1 cup whole wheat flour 1 tsp salt 1 tsp vanilla 1/2 tsp fresh crushed ginger (Trader Joe's brand) 2 tsp cinnamon 1 tsp nutmeg 1 tsp baking soda 1/4 tsp baking powder 2/3 cup toasted slivered almonds 1-1/4 cup dried blueberries 3/4 cup raisins I baked both loaves for 60 minutes and cooled them on racks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Another try at using up the mountain of applesauce I made last fall...and this will be made again! After reading the reviews, I cut the sugar in half and it was plenty sweet for us. I also decided for cut out the oil altogether and instead added 3/4 cup of fat free cour cream. I also added a splash of vanilla and a sprinkle of ground ginger and nutmeg! So moist and tasty! I only wish I had some walnuts on hand, I think that chopped walnuts would make a great addition. I also subbed one cup of regular flour for whole wheat and sprinkled the tops of the loaves with a cinnamon/sugar mixture! I can't wait to have more for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I made this recipe for my sustainable development class, as a project on organic foods avail. in Michigan. Everyone in the class enjoyed it. I made the Honey Butter recipe to go along with it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Very disappointed. The bread's moisture doesn't comensate for it's virtual lack of flavor or anything that makes it stand out. Mediocre at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Super Delicious! Wouldnt change a thing! Made these twice already..when I go back for more they are gone already! My family LOVES THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
i made this for my MOPs meeting and it was a complete hit!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I found that 80 mins was too long to bake the bread. After 60, they were done, and a slight bit dry. The flavor was nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States