Applesauce Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was so easy to bake....and absolutely delicious...I will definitely bake it again and again for my boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
My favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
LOve this recipe. I did take down the sugar by 1/2 a cup. added a tiny bit more cinnamon, and chunks of apple and craisins(as the previous reviews recommended) but I made them as muffins.... and they were so good! Once they were out of the oven and slightly cooled I dipped them in butter and then into a sugar/cinnamon mix to give that sugar crumble top..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Good bread and easy to make. My toddler liked it so the lower spice level is good but yes, if you like it spicier I would double the spice. Also, if it turns out too sweet don't use sweetened applesauce. That makes a big difference in sweetness. You can only cut the regular sugar so much before you start to hurt the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was very good!! I only had some cups of mango peach applesauce so i used those, added 2 small chopped apples and some chopped walnuts, i also increased the spice (as per previous reviews) to 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger and a sprinkle of nutmeg. Made 1 loaf and 12 muffins came out nice and moist and yummy DH ate 3 of the muffins while they were still quite warm! Will make again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA097

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Hastings, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I am enjoying the first slice warm!!!Just made a double batch and will see how well this bread freezes. It is delicious, but pretty sweet, may cut back on the sugar a bit. Made it more healthy by adding a few T. of wheat germ and ground flax seed. Also put in pecans instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe was very good. I cut down the oil to about 3/4 cup, added 1 chopped apple to give it some texture and instead of raisins, used craisins. I got lots of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is a family favorite that is asked for at every family gathering. I've found that it cooks faster than the suggested 80min. Also, if I use three smaller loaf pans, it will bake in about 60 min. I also always use buttermilk and leave out the cinnamon since I use Motts applesauce with cinnamon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is a nice quick bread to make. I added both chocolate chips and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I took this recipe as a base, and made it my own. I had leftover fruit pulp from the juicer this morning (rasberry, strawberry, orange, lemon, grapes, bananna), and it tasted so good, I didn't want to throw it away, I wanted to make it into a bread. Not knowing where to start, I came to allrecipes :o), and I used this recipe as a base. I had a cup of pulp, added 1/2 cup of cinnamon applesauce, and 1/2 cup of berry applesauce. I used half whole wheat flour, added a teaspoon of lemon zest, and added 1/4 cup of ground flax. Also, I added about a cup of craisins. I took off half a cup of sugar, because I thought it would be too sweet otherwise. I greased and sugared the loaf pans, and it was done in 65 minutes, not 80. Most delish! Thanks for the jumping board!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States