Applesauce Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My daughter, age 11, entered this bread in our county fair last week (9-09). She recieved a BLUE RIBBON. She followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious, moist and looked perfect. We made an extra loaf for us and we finished it in 2 days. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I really liked this recipe for the fact that it contains a lot of ingredients most folks would keep in their pantry/fridge ALL THE TIME. I subbed in non-fat sour cream, used 1 c brown sugar, .5 c white, 1/4 tsp fresh grated nutmeg, and doubled the amount of cinnamon. My two loaves came out firm but moist on the outside and super moist on the inside. Must be EXACT with measurements because this could easily become very soggy if od'ing on wet ingredients. Baked for 1 hour give or take, rotating pans half way through. The only thing is, I'd like this to be a little more spicy. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Moist, tasty. Simply the best. I have been making this for several years and I am never dissapointed. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was so easy to bake....and absolutely delicious...I will definitely bake it again and again for my boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
My favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
LOve this recipe. I did take down the sugar by 1/2 a cup. added a tiny bit more cinnamon, and chunks of apple and craisins(as the previous reviews recommended) but I made them as muffins.... and they were so good! Once they were out of the oven and slightly cooled I dipped them in butter and then into a sugar/cinnamon mix to give that sugar crumble top..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Good bread and easy to make. My toddler liked it so the lower spice level is good but yes, if you like it spicier I would double the spice. Also, if it turns out too sweet don't use sweetened applesauce. That makes a big difference in sweetness. You can only cut the regular sugar so much before you start to hurt the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was very good!! I only had some cups of mango peach applesauce so i used those, added 2 small chopped apples and some chopped walnuts, i also increased the spice (as per previous reviews) to 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger and a sprinkle of nutmeg. Made 1 loaf and 12 muffins came out nice and moist and yummy DH ate 3 of the muffins while they were still quite warm! Will make again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA097

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Hastings, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I am enjoying the first slice warm!!!Just made a double batch and will see how well this bread freezes. It is delicious, but pretty sweet, may cut back on the sugar a bit. Made it more healthy by adding a few T. of wheat germ and ground flax seed. Also put in pecans instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This recipe was very good. I cut down the oil to about 3/4 cup, added 1 chopped apple to give it some texture and instead of raisins, used craisins. I got lots of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States