Applesauce Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I liked that this was very easy to make and very moist, however it did not really have much flavor to it. Next time I may add a bit of spice to liven it up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Yummy. This is one of those recipes you can make mistakes, reduce ingredients, and it is still a delicious bread. Not an overwhelming flavor, but just delightful, tasty and very, very moist! My (picky eater) hubby said, "I REALLY like this bread!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
By far one of my favorite bread recipes now! This cake came out super moist and tasty! I followed the recipe exactly but used lite sour cream. Next time I will try to make it healthy by using a mixture of whole wheat and brown rice flour, cutting down the sugar with agave nectar, using extra applesauce to reduce the oil, I never used raisins and I dont plan to next time...And using fat free plain greek yogurt...I will let you know how it comes out "healthy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Delicious apple bread - great for breakfast. I cut the recipe in half and used two eggs and cut the oil down to 1/4 cup. I used a chunky applesauce so I cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup (1/3 white & 1/3 brown). I upped the cinnamon to 2 tsp. and added 1 tsp. of nutmeg and 2 tsp. of vanilla. I also added 1/4 tsp. of salt to the dry ingredients. It was done in one hour and was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe with a bit of wiggle room if you want to adapt it a bit or are running low on some of the ingredients. I always sub half of the white sugar with brown for quick breads, so in this case used only 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown. Next time, I'll reduce those amounts by at least 1/4 cup each; the bread was very sweet. I did not have much oil so only used about 1/4 to 1/3 cup. I doubled the cinnamon and added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp salt. I didn't have sour cream so used milk soured with a bit of vinegar. My loaf pans are 8.5 X 4 in and the bread was done in 60 minutes. The bread is moist and really tasty. Great for a breakfast treat or snack for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
It is very good but there's not much flavour. I added nutmeg and cloves, yet nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I used very little oil( didn't measure it but probably 1/4 cup or less) & no raisins. I did add walnuts & one extra teaspoon cinnamon & one teaspoon nutmeg. I tasted it right out of the oven & thought it was not very good. But when I tasted it again after it had cooled I thought it was very good. Will make this again. I might even add some vanilla to the batter for a little added flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I halved the oil and added apple pie spice....the bread was moist but still lacked a little flavor...next time I will add evenmore apple pie spice...thanks for a recipe to build on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this bread last week and followed the recipe with 2 changes ... I left out the raisins and added l cup of pecans. Came out great. Very, very moist and flavorful. Plan on using this to give as Xmas presents. Will use smaller loaf pans for Xmas. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My daughter, age 11, entered this bread in our county fair last week (9-09). She recieved a BLUE RIBBON. She followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious, moist and looked perfect. We made an extra loaf for us and we finished it in 2 days. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States