Applesauce Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. This recipe is very versatile and I followed what other reviewers have said that they had or would add. I added cinnamon and nutmeg along with a touch of vanilla. I also halved the oil in the recipe and reduced the white sugar content to 1-1/2 cups. I also mixed in some nuts which turned out well. One thing I felt like I should've added were some sliced apples or other fruit and then this would be perfect! This is a great recipe I recommend many to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Just a re-review. I nixed the oil as many of the reviewers said. The flavor was marginally better, but the bread was still excessively moist. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made this bread, and it turned out awesome even tho I made the mistake adding 1 c. of sourcream instead of the 1/2 cup. But please check the baking time it says 80 min and this has to be a misprint as I baked it for only 60 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Delicious and easy. I didn't have enough applesauce so I added a drained can (small) of fruit cocktail (minus the cherries - yuk!). I substituted chopped walnuts for the raisins. Brought it to a gathering and had several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
easy, easy easy. We all loved it and especially KJ who at 3 slices at 19 months old. Will make again. I followed direction completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Iola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I added more cinnamon and a bit of cardamom and I had to omit the sour cream completely (since I didn't have any on hand), adding some heavy cream instead, but it came out amazing! I would recommend dousing the raisins in hot water with a bit of vanilla added to it for a few minutes to get them nice and plump in the bread. I also topped the bread with crushed walnuts and pecans. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made muffins that turned out yum. I used brown vs whiter sugar since I didn't have enough white sugar to make them at the time. I used plain yogurt vs sour cream since I didn't have enough sour cream. I used applesauce that I had made from from an apple tree in my yard. Super moist. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I needed to use up a ton of applesauce and made this bread not expecting much, but boy was I wrong! I reduced oil by half and added nutmeg and additional cinnamon, the bread was moist and flavorful. Not very sweet, so it wasn't liked as much by the kids, but what do they know! ;) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Coskey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Delicious! Perfect. I halved the recipe, and used a tad bit more flour than the recipe asked for since I heard some people saying it was too moist, but mine came out perfect with a gentle sweet taste. I really should have made muffins out of this... especially regretting that I forgot to grease my pan... I'm not going to enjoy getting this out. I highly recommend, this was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluesnow

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I had to use egg substitute due to egg allergy and did not come out great. I also threw in some vanilla and it did not need it. Tasted very very sweet and spongy, used cupcakes instead of bread pan. Probably not going to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States