Applesauce Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Well, I went with the reviews and only used 1/2 the oil called for and found it to be dry. Next time I will go with the original recipe and rate it again. I also added spices (nutmeg, allspice, ginger, etc) to add some more flavor and that worked well. We liked it but a little drier than we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Yum! This is a super moist and flavorful bread! I used homemade applesauce (apple picking leftovers) and coconut oil and it worked came out perfectly! I skipped the raisins because we didn't have any. I also added a powdered sugar glaze to add a little zip. I think its a real crowd pleaser! Cant wait for breakfast in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made this gluten free. I used king authur GF flour. I also used homemade apple pumpkin butter in place of the apple sauce. I dropped the cinnamon as the apple pumpkin butter already has it in it. It was so yummy. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Call

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This bread is amazing and super moist, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I tweaked this recipe a lot and the end result was fabulous! After reading other reviews I added 2 tsps. of apple pie spice, 1/4 tsp. of ground cloves, a tsp. of salt, and 2 tsps. of baking soda. I completely omitted the baking powder. I also cut the oil down to 1/2 cup and added a 1/2 cup of sour milk (buttermilk substitute made by putting a 1/2 Tbls. of vinegar and adding enough milk to equal 1/2 cup). Sour cream just seemed like it would be too much moisture on top of the applesauce and oil. I also added chopped walnuts instead of raisins because of personal preference. My husband said it was really good, and I agreed! I will be making several loaves to give out as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made my own applesauce, and I also substituted some cream cheese for the sour cream. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made the two loafs and it came out with oily taste. Perhaps 3/4 or 1/2 cup of oil would have been enough specially if making with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma2gracie
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This bread is moist, delicious and simply amazing! I did tweak it a little after reading the other reviews. I made this recipe with 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg. I cut down on the sugar by 1/4 cup because I was using sweetened homemade applesauce. I replaced 1/4 cup of the oil with 1/4 cup melted margarine, and I added maybe 1/2 cup of walnuts. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Yum. I used 1/2 brown sugar, added a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. It is a very moist and rather heavy bread, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
While it was still warm I drizzled it with about a 1/4 cup of Kentucky Bourbon and topped it with cream cheese frosting. 8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States