Applesauce Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
yum! what a tasty & wonderfully moist bar! i only made a few simple modifications such as substituting half of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour & tossing a 1/2 c. golden raisins into the batter (just because). "pumpkin pie spice" isn't something i have in my pantry. instead i use the spices my grandmother put into her pumpkin pies: 1/4 tsp. ground ginger, 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg & 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon. a couple more notes: i went with the flow & baked these in a 9 x 9" pan to get a thicker bar. mine were done in 30 minutes. lastly, i skipped the frosting & sprinkled mine with confectioner's sugar. these bars have enough flavor to stand on their own. thank you debbi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I JUST MADE THIS AND IT TURNED OUT GREAT. I TOO USED AN 8X8 PAN AND BAKED FOR 20 MINUTES. I WAS ALSO OUT OF PUMPKIN PIE SPICE SO I USED A LITTLE ALLSPICE, NUTMEG AND CINNAMON. IT IS DELICIOUS. I ALSO ADDED SOME BROWN SUGAR TO THE ICING, FROSTED THE CAKE WHILE WARM, AND CUT MYSELF A SLICE. GOOD!! MY 3 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER AND ONE YEAR OLD SON LOVED IT AS WELL. THANKS FOR THIS SIMPLE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
These are sooooooo good. I substituted a homemade cream cheese icing instead and spread it on right after baking. It gave it a glazed affect. They were gone in a matter of minutes! (icing: cream cheese, butter, vanilla, powdered sugar... yum)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
These were delicious and so easy to make! I followed the directions exactly the first time. Next time I might try adding raisins and drizzling the frosting instead of spreading it. The bars come out just moist enough, not wet like some applesauce bars. This will be a regular snack cake in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This recipe is FANTASTIC!!!! So easy to make. Delicious. Suprisingly low in calories too (although it is hard to eat just one!!)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
yummy! I added raisins and they turned out great! very moist! I will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
OMG these were Awesome!!!! very moist and just the right amount of spice and sweetness. easy to make too! I did cheat and used half a tub of store bought cream cheese frosting, melted that and drizzled on top. YUMMMMM will definalty be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
These turned out really good!! Low fat too ;) Thanks for the recipe, I usually have chunky applesauce but I only had the cinnamon kind so I diced an apple and threw it in, they cam out a bit moister obviously, but still delicious. A bit sweet, perhaps next time I will thin the icing and drizzle instead. Thanks a lot for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
These were amazing--didn't last 24 hours! They taste like carrot cake without all the work. I added about 2 tsp. light brown sugar to the frosting to give it a touch of caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I was very happy with how these bars turned out. They were very moist and loaded with flavor. I'll be making this recipe again and again. Thanks Debbi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States