Applesauce Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Agree. Smaller pan!! I used an 8x8 also. The batter would be too thin for a 9x13 IMHO. If you doubled the recipe, then the larger pan would be fine. I used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and a smidge of fresh nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Definitely a keeper! So easy and fast to prepare with basic pantry staples! I didn't have any pumpkin spice on hand but a tsp of cinnamon, a 1/4 tsp each of nutmeg and ground cloves substituted perfectly. The cake/bar comes out very moist and flavorful. An option to consider when making frosting ... a quick change from a buttercream frosting ... replace the butter with a Tbs or so of peanut butter ... delicious on applesauce cakes! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Very good. I used Splenda brown sugar (1/3 cup) and unsweetened applesauce. Then I only frosted half of the pan. My husband prefers them without frosting, and we have a friend who is diabetic. They were kind of thin, so next time I might use a 9 x 9 pan. There WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delicious and super moist. I followed the recipe exactly and used my homemade applesauce. It is very easy to make and tastes great. I would not change a thing unless you use store bought applesauce which may need some more spices. My applesauce had a lot of spices already in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by offgridintn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Yummy! These are so easy to make & so moist & delicious. I did not change the recipe at all and they came out perfect. The only thing I did was take them out of the oven after 20 minutes. I think 25 would've been too long. The icing on the top is delicious. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSing

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I love these easy bars and have made them many times. I usually sub Splenda brown sugar blend for the sugar and add raisins. Cream cheese frosting is the best compliment to them for me. Today I made them and added a grated apple (to a half recipe) and they were very yummy and apple-y. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Flavor is mild. I think I will add some ground ginger next time. They were done in 20 min. using a 9 x 13 pan. Yes, they do come out thin but not a big deal. Very good and will make again. Family liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Super moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Im giving these 5 because they were exactly what the recipe says!! Good all around cake bar. I also had plenty of frosting. I only added 1 more Tb of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States