Applesauce Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
YUM!! I added a cup of shredded zucchini to these which was wonderful, and I slightly altered the frosting by cutting the sugar back a little and replacing the milk with sour cream. I am making these again as soon as we empty the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
First of all, these bars need to go in an 8" X 8" pan. They were very thin. Secondly, they tasted greasy so I wouldn't grease the pan or cut down on the margarine in the recipe. Thirdly, they are extremely moist almost too moist for my liking. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
The frosting is overly sweet. If you make it - use only 25% to 50% of the frosting and drizzle it - don't spread it. The bars themselves are very moist and would be good alone, sprinkled lightly with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Easy and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimikiChicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
If I could rate this any lower than zero I would. This was terrible. I made this recipe according to the directions, put it in a 9x13 inch pan as the instructions call for and the "bars" were no thicker than a chocolate chip cookie. I'm not sure what everyone else here has done with these but to say they are amazing or fantastic is completely off the rails. My advice... either bake them in an 8x8 pan or find a different recipe because this one is horrible. If people have to make modifications to the recipe to make it work than the recipe is flawed and needs to either be edited or removed completely. A complete waste of my time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Amazing!! I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk and smart balance light butter and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I made these for an upcoming bake sale, I accidentally left out the butter,and they turned out awesome.Dense but awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
LOVED these bars. My son asks for them Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
These were really addicting! I wanted to make a simple dessert with ingredients I had on hand and thought this would just taste average like many desserts, but my husband and I were surprised by how good this was. I made no modifications other than using butter in the frosting, because I don't have margarine. The texture came out great and it wasn't too crumbly and not too heavy. It is not a bar consistency if you are expecting that. It's more like a cake. It tastes REALLY good served slightly warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States