Applesauce Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Fantastic bars and what a wonderful treat for fall weather, or anytime. Absolutley delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was a good recipe, but mine looked a lot more dense than the picture. I made my own applesauce for the recipe (granny smith apples) which made the sauce more tart which I like. Also, I cut the icing recipe in half and just drizzled it on top of the bars an hour before serving. It was the perfect sweetness. This was a hit at a church meeting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These are pretty good but cake like. A bit too sweet especially with the frosting. I added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar to my frosting after reading it in a review and it made the frosting gritty. Not sure if I was supposed to beat the brown sugar with the butter and then add in the confectioners sugar (I just mixed all together by hand) but the result of the frosting wasn't worth it. Next time I will stick to the recipe for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My roommate loved these, but I thought they just tasted like sugar. The texture was moist and tender so I enjoyed that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Wonderful. Homemade applesauce really enhances them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Made these today and they are delicious!! Mine came out more like a this cake than a bar cookie. But still very yummy. I made mine in a 9x13 pan, and it only took about 12 mins..my oven seems to cook things faster for some reason
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmac

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Delicious! These were so easy to throw together as a last minute dessert- all of the ingredients are pantry staples. Mine cooked perfectly in about 22 minutes. They're nicely moist but not soggy. Not a dense, heavy dessert like some spice cakes can be. Frosting came together nicely, too. I'm having a hard time not eating more while I type this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I halved the recipe and used an 8x8 pan. Also, since the recipe in whole called for one egg, I substituted 1/2 tablespoon of milled flax seed and 4 1/2 teaspoons of water for egg. The result was delicious and moist and got rave reviews. I will definitely use this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I've tried this recipe several times in hopes of getting it perfected - I just can't seem to make it delicious !! It's o.k., but I just feel like something is lacking here ! Sorry !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
good - can substitute fruit babyfood for applesauce. used softened butter instead of melted margarine and added a sm. packet of micky d's caramel sauce for apples instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States