Applesauce Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
LOVED these bars. My son asks for them Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
These were really addicting! I wanted to make a simple dessert with ingredients I had on hand and thought this would just taste average like many desserts, but my husband and I were surprised by how good this was. I made no modifications other than using butter in the frosting, because I don't have margarine. The texture came out great and it wasn't too crumbly and not too heavy. It is not a bar consistency if you are expecting that. It's more like a cake. It tastes REALLY good served slightly warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I left these bars at home for four brothers and my dad when I had to leave. Fifteen minutes later I recieved a text, "deeelicious!!" and within an hour another message telling me they were ALL gone. The whole batch. I did skip the icing, but served them warm and they were a huge hit in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Awesome recipe! I was able to make it with things I already had on hand. It took no time at all to prepare and bake and tasted great! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ncc1701
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Added 1 cup rolled oats, used whole wheat organic flour, added raisins, walnuts and cut the brown sugar to 1/2 and substituted stevia for the other half. Lined a 9x13 pan with non-stick aluminum foil (for easy removal) and baked for 23 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I've made this recipe twice; we think it's terrific. The first time, I added 1/2 t powdered ginger because I was in the mood for something really spicy. I also added 1/2 t cinnamon to the frosting. We couldn't leave them alone. I used white whole wheat flour and they were still moist and tender. Yesterday, I made the recipe again and doubled the recipe. It baked in 30 minutes, in a 9/13 pan, and was just as good as the first time. One thing I would say is to watch them carefully; our oven is new and may bake hotter, but the bars were done before the time specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Guare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Nice flavor, but texture is very light - more like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
made with homeade pear-sauce..yummy..thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Agree. Smaller pan!! I used an 8x8 also. The batter would be too thin for a 9x13 IMHO. If you doubled the recipe, then the larger pan would be fine. I used 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and a smidge of fresh nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Definitely a keeper! So easy and fast to prepare with basic pantry staples! I didn't have any pumpkin spice on hand but a tsp of cinnamon, a 1/4 tsp each of nutmeg and ground cloves substituted perfectly. The cake/bar comes out very moist and flavorful. An option to consider when making frosting ... a quick change from a buttercream frosting ... replace the butter with a Tbs or so of peanut butter ... delicious on applesauce cakes! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States