Applesauce Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
The first time, I tried these as is. Moist, Moist, and more moist! Mom made homemade applesauce so I used that and added store bought to bring my amount to a full 1 cup. Sweet and spicy I can't really say anything else about them. I think walnuts and/or raisins soaked in hot water would be good in these. Next time, I'll try cutting back the sugar since the applesauce already has some sweetness to it. I'd also like to try substituting oil for the butter and see what that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Very good recipe. The cake was very moist and had a nice spice to it. I should have made a bit more frosting though as it was a little thin. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shutchison6180

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearisburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These were great. I used cream cheese frosting instead of the frosting suggested here. Tasted just like a spice bar and really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I love the simplicity of this recipe. It was more like cake than I expected. Next time I will use whole wheat flour to make it more substantial. I also took the advice from another review and added raisins after I plumped them in hot water for about 3 minutes. I served them with cream cheese frosting (after the cake had cooled) and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
YUM!! I added a cup of shredded zucchini to these which was wonderful, and I slightly altered the frosting by cutting the sugar back a little and replacing the milk with sour cream. I am making these again as soon as we empty the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
First of all, these bars need to go in an 8" X 8" pan. They were very thin. Secondly, they tasted greasy so I wouldn't grease the pan or cut down on the margarine in the recipe. Thirdly, they are extremely moist almost too moist for my liking. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
The frosting is overly sweet. If you make it - use only 25% to 50% of the frosting and drizzle it - don't spread it. The bars themselves are very moist and would be good alone, sprinkled lightly with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Easy and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimikiChicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
If I could rate this any lower than zero I would. This was terrible. I made this recipe according to the directions, put it in a 9x13 inch pan as the instructions call for and the "bars" were no thicker than a chocolate chip cookie. I'm not sure what everyone else here has done with these but to say they are amazing or fantastic is completely off the rails. My advice... either bake them in an 8x8 pan or find a different recipe because this one is horrible. If people have to make modifications to the recipe to make it work than the recipe is flawed and needs to either be edited or removed completely. A complete waste of my time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Amazing!! I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk and smart balance light butter and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States